Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
Live chickens and wool batting >

Live chickens and wool batting

Live chickens and wool batting

Old 10-18-2015, 12:44 PM

Default Live chickens and wool batting

I am a beginner / intermediate quilter. I just finished a quilt with wool batting. Wool is expensive and I hate to toss unusable in the trash. I was wondering if chickens would use it in their nests for winter. My friend has a few chickens and thinks if there were any chemical's in the batting since the chickens walk around in chicken poop battings should not hurt them. Would chickens use this to line their nests? This has been a hot topic among us suburbia quilters. Thanks Judy
Old 10-18-2015, 02:48 PM

I have chickens, and have never seen them make a nest. If I have straw in the nest box, they'll scratch it to make a dip to set in. They will scratch dirt to make a dip to set in. But they do not bring material into an area to build a nest. Some people I know save up tiny scraps to fill dog beds they make for shelters, perhaps this would be a more appropriate use for it.
Old 10-18-2015, 03:06 PM

I'd think it would be good in pincushions and mug rugs.
Old 10-18-2015, 03:24 PM

Chickens do nest but they are not gathers like birds that fly. And when I suggested about throwing some of my scraps out for birds I was told it was not a good thing to do by Rangers in Yosemite. Can't remember the exact reason but was told not to do it, so I don't anymore. I agree with Zozee, use it to make other smaller items. A friend of mine took my left over batting for purses.
Old 10-18-2015, 03:54 PM

Originally Posted by quiltingcandy View Post