Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Machine Embroidery
Embroidery Machines Lets Chat & Have Fun >

Embroidery Machines Lets Chat & Have Fun

Embroidery Machines Lets Chat & Have Fun

Old 10-15-2012, 10:14 AM

Originally Posted by TanyaL View Post
I have some fabric that I have had to use as many as 9 layers of stabilizer behind it before it quit puckering. I had 2 layers of tear-away, then had the rest in wash away as I couldn't abide the thickness of having more stabilizers being there permanentlly. I think I may try using a wash away on top of the fabric in a test piece and see if that reduces the amount of total stabilizers needed, but I've never tried that before. This is in an embroidery piece with over 40,000 stitches. Have no idea if that contributes to the problem - if my hooping is off or what - but it was a piece of advice on a TV show where someone else said they had to use that many stabilizers that got me to try it.
The density (# of stitches) do have a big part of your problem. Do you have the capabilities in your software to reduce the density? I do that with all my designs, I check the density and also the underlying stitches that aren't needed. Especially on some fabrics like t-shirts.
Old 10-15-2012, 10:16 AM

[QUOTE=laura59;5587412]Try hooping the stabilizer only. Then spray the stabilizer lightly with some temporary spray like KK2000 or embroidery spray. Lay the satin on top of the stabilizer and smooth it out. I don't hoop anything except stabilizer. This seems to work better for me. Hth.[/QUOTE

That has only worked for me for designs with smaller amounts of stitches. Just saying- maybe it's my fabric. I think satin and silk are especially hard to keep from pucking.
Old 10-15-2012, 12:51 PM

Originally Posted by romanojg View Post
What kind of machine did you buy? I just traded my Viking Ruby in for a Diamond Deluxe. I've been in class for the past two days and haven't had time to even sew on it.