Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
basting my first quilt top Q's >

basting my first quilt top Q's

basting my first quilt top Q's

Old 01-29-2015, 03:19 AM

Question basting my first quilt top Q's

Hey everyone!
I have a few questions as I prepare to baste my 1st quilt top. It's just a funky lap-top or craft quilt size project - pics later of the hexagon blocks - but I'm fearful at this point.

1. I am new to sewing not only quilting - this is about a 36"x40" top, and I have very little floor space to lay out my sandwich. I have a large enough table to do this - but if I can't get it all thread-basted in one day, and I have to remove (carefully) the project until another time, will I still be able to keep it all lined up?
2. Is it realistic to consider Elmer's glue basting for a newbie - or should I focus on traditional long-stitch basting stitches by hand? I feel better about the thread, but glue.....seems quicker....?
3. Would anyone recommend a particular thread weight/type and needle type for basting by hand please?

thanks so much - off to work with my 5th grade students!!!

Adam
Old 01-29-2015, 03:51 AM

See if this works - my funky top - don't mind the errors!

[ATTACH=CONFIG]508058[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails quilt%25u00252bone.jpg  

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 01-29-2015 at 04:28 AM. Reason: remove affiliated link
Old 01-29-2015, 03:55 AM

Your top is completely sewn together, correct? It should only take 30 minutes to an hour to thread baste a quilt that small. You take huge running stitches in a grid, with the rows about a hands width apart.
Old 01-29-2015, 03:55 AM

Cute top & good job.
Old 01-29-2015, 03:57 AM

Are you hand quilting this? you thread baste for hand quilting. You safety pin or glue baste for machine quilting.
Old 01-29-2015, 04:12 AM