Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Can't seem to get the hang of using a thimble. >

Can't seem to get the hang of using a thimble.

Can't seem to get the hang of using a thimble.

Old 03-24-2009, 07:23 AM

I have been quilting for almost eight years and for some reason I feel like I have been doing it all wrong. I hand quilt similar to if a person was hand sewing. I get like 5-6 stitches to a needle and they are all pretty and even and my quilts all look great I am told but I even bought a Roxanne thimble (I have tried many) and practiced but cant get the hang or just the feel of one. Does this make me a back quilter ? I do use those little thimble pads which feel awesome. I dont have a "quilter callus". I hold my needle between my thumb and the finger next too it.. I have been doing this wrong all these years??
I am self taught.

Lisa
Old 03-24-2009, 07:48 AM

You are not doing anything wrong at all. Whatever is comfortable for you is what is right for you and don't let anyone tell you that you are doing it the wrong way. That being said, always be open to new techniques and develop the ones you enjoy. :D
Old 03-24-2009, 07:49 AM

Here's my theory...WHATEVER WORKS FOR YOU!!!

I haven't had much sucess with thimbles either as I would much prefer to use the side of my middle finger than the tip, so I'm on the hunt for something that will allow me to do that comfortably. And when I do find a way that works for me, I'll stick with that regardless of the quilt police :lol: :lol:
Old 03-24-2009, 08:10 AM

I can't get the hang of it either. My fingers are small and evey one that I have tried falls off!!! A box of Bandaids is my best "friend". Don't even know if anyone else uses them for that or not. But, it works for me!
Mary
Old 03-24-2009, 08:29 AM
k3n
Power Poster

I can't use a thimble either - I use a pad on my right finger and I have a callous on my left! :D

http://www.quiltingboard.com/posts/list/30/17276.page

K x
Old 03-24-2009, 08:51 AM
Power Poster