Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Eurosteam iron update review needed

  1. #1
    Super Member deedum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bluebell
    Posts
    4,290

    Eurosteam iron update review needed

    Hi everyone, I recently attended the Paducah Ky quilt show. Bought the eurosteam iron and wondered how long it will last. So far I love it. The only thing I don't love is you gotta empty the water out of it when your done for the day (?) which is no biggie. Love the fact I don't get burnt anylonger and how I can really press large material.
    Seen some reviews on here from 5 or 6 years ago. Wondering what everyone thinks of the iron now.

  2. #2
    Super Member JENNR8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Herndon, VA
    Posts
    1,457
    I love my Euro iron and wouldn't use anything else. I can't get past the benefit of being able to iron anything without damaging the fabric. I was sold when they showed me how putting the iron on a balloon wouldn't pop it. I recreated it at home, and it's true. I've ironed flimsy/delicate scarves without damage. I can leave the iron on a seam any length of time without worry that the fabric will be damaged.

    Having it oriented flat has really saved my wrist/arm. I have constant pain in my arms that prevent me from using the traditional irons that need to be set on end.

    Now the bad part... They need to be repaired often. I've only gotten about 2.5 years out of them before they need to be repaired. The repair is alot less than a new iron though.

  3. #3
    Super Member deedum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bluebell
    Posts
    4,290
    Jennr8r. do you empty yours every night? or how often. didn't know about the balloon thing. So far I think it is great for a quilter/crafter. Not crazy about the repair thing, but at least it is doable. thanks for the update

  4. #4
    Power Poster Onebyone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Southern USA
    Posts
    10,456
    I found a steam iron like this at a thrift store, much smaller size. It didn't get hot to the touch and only put steam when on the fabric. It was Swiss made in the late 50's or early 60's. It is too small for fabric pressing but great for block pressing. I saw the demo at Paducah and was impressed. It did the same as my thrift store iron did but of course much more modern. This type of iron had been around for decades but never really caught on until it was revised to be for quilters. I almost bought this newer version.
    I believe giving what I can will never cause me to be in need.
    Being cheap is not a badge of honor.
    My heroes are working people, paying their own way, taking care of their children and being decent human beings.

  5. #5
    Super Member JENNR8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Herndon, VA
    Posts
    1,457
    Yes, I empty the water every night. I use filtered water from my refrigerator, and I put a half vinegar/half water solution in it monthly to clean it.

  6. #6
    Super Member JENNR8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Herndon, VA
    Posts
    1,457
    ...and I change the rubber ring around the cap annually.

  7. #7
    Super Member deedum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bluebell
    Posts
    4,290
    Jennr8r thanks for the help on this. will do.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    5,114
    I've had mine for years now. Have never cleaned it. Use distilled water as directed in it with no harmful effects. The only repair I've needed is the plug replaced which DH did for me. Due to knocking it off the table more times than I'd like to admit, the piece where the cord goes into the iron itself can be a bit finicky now but otherwise works like a charm! I love that iron!

  9. #9
    Super Member JENNR8R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Herndon, VA
    Posts
    1,457
    Quote Originally Posted by NJ Quilter View Post
    I've had mine for years now. Have never cleaned it. Use distilled water as directed in it with no harmful effects. The only repair I've needed is the plug replaced which DH did for me. Due to knocking it off the table more times than I'd like to admit, the piece where the cord goes into the iron itself can be a bit finicky now but otherwise works like a charm! I love that iron!
    The instruction manual reads: "The Eurosteam Iron is designed to use regular tap water. Never use 100% distilled water as this may lead to damage inside the boiler."

    I use filtered tap water, clean it monthly, change the rubber gasket yearly because I love it so much, and want it to last forever. Maybe I'm treating it too nicely?

    My first one got so hot after a few years that I had to use an oven mit to pick it up. I bought a second one because they said that problem had been fixed in the newer model.

    After a year, the steam dial broke on the second one, and I had to pay for shipping for them to fix it under warranty. Then 2.5 years after purchase it developed a major leaking problem. I had to send it to get fixed again.

    I didn't want to be without it so I bought a third one. The fixed iron is due back today. At least now I'll have a backup if one needs to be repaired again. I think my experience goes under the category of "If it weren't for bad luck, I'd have no luck at all!"

    Another feature that I don't want to live without is its not turning off when not in use for ten minutes. It's always hot whenever I'm ready. It really is worth all of the trouble.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    5,114
    Quote Originally Posted by JENNR8R View Post
    The instruction manual reads: "The Eurosteam Iron is designed to use regular tap water. Never use 100% distilled water as this may lead to damage inside the boiler."

    I use filtered tap water, clean it monthly, change the rubber gasket yearly because I love it so much, and want it to last forever. Maybe I'm treating it too nicely?

    My first one got so hot after a few years that I had to use an oven mit to pick it up. I bought a second one because they said that problem had been fixed in the newer model.

    After a year, the steam dial broke on the second one, and I had to pay for shipping for them to fix it under warranty. Then 2.5 years after purchase it developed a major leaking problem. I had to send it to get fixed again.

    I didn't want to be without it so I bought a third one. The fixed iron is due back today. At least now I'll have a backup if one needs to be repaired again. I think my experience goes under the category of "If it weren't for bad luck, I'd have no luck at all!"

    Another feature that I don't want to live without is its not turning off when not in use for ten minutes. It's always hot whenever I'm ready. It really is worth all of the trouble.
    Interesting about the distilled water. I was told (and I'm pretty sure the instructions said) to only use distilled water. with mine. Granted, it is about 10+ years old so maybe things have changed?? And I never knew there was a rubber gasket?? Where is that???

    I've never 'cleaned' mine - have not noticed a decrease in performance and using distilled water didn't think it was necessary.

    Other than my own dropping/knocking off the table issues, I have zero problems with this iron. The only leaking issues is when I've over filled. Mine came with the little measuring cup/funnel.

    I also usually turn mine on to a 'medium' steam level. Therefore, when not in use, I turn it off but leave plugged in. After chain sewing a bunch of whatever, I turn the iron back on while I'm unpinning (yes, I sew over pins - gasp!) and clipping threads between sections, the iron heats up and I'm ready to rock 'n roll.

    I also do not worry about emptying iron at the end of a session. Usually I've exhausted the tank by the time I'm done sewing for that session so it's not a major consideration. Although I have been known to leave water in there for days/weeks at a time with no adverse effects.

    Now my Rowenta that I use for general clothing ironing (yes, I still do that on occasion, lol) I am pretty diligent about emptying because I do use it far less frequently. BTW, it's instructions also specify distilled water. I was very diligent about reading instructions in the store before bringing home. The only issues I've ever had with my Rowenta's were of my own doing...dropping, etc. Otherwise I've had no issues with them either.

    But the Eurosteam produces more steam than any other iron I've seen in my lifetime. And I like my steam!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.