Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Favorite Quilting Book

Favorite Quilting Book

I am totally new to this hobby and would like to have a book with the very basics, a quilter's "bible" so to speak. What would you all recommend?

My first one was "Lap Quilting" by Georgia Bonesteel, that was because I started with hand quilting. There are so many books and it really depends on what you plan to do. Good luck. One book does seem to lead to another quickly.

Basically..what I'm wanting is something with terminology etc. When I say I'm new, I mean I'm green as grass

Blog Entries
    Check out youtube, there is so much on quilting.
    Veronica

True, just looking for a book I can sit outside and read or take with me or whatever.

Quote Originally Posted by beckyboo1 View Post
    I am totally new to this hobby and would like to have a book with the very basics, a quilter's "bible" so to speak. What would you all recommend?

1001 Patchwork Designs by Maggie Malone. You can buy a used one on Amazon.
    Bad Spellers of the World
    U N T I E

The Ultimate Quilting Book, by: Maggi Gordon. It is a mixture of ideas, patterns, tips and history. I enjoy it for reading as well as patterns and templates etc

I love "Qiilting for Dummies". Its one of the dummy books and I always refer to it. A good teacher and basic.

Blog Entries
    There are several that might be helpful to you.

The Quilter's Complete Guide by Fons and Porter
    Patchwork Made Easy, 2nd edition, by Jean Wells
    The Art of Classic Quiltmaking by Harriet Hargrove and Sharyn Craig
    Quilts! Quilts! Quilts! by Laura Nownes and Diana McClun
    Your First Quilt Book ( Or It Should Be!) by Carol Doak