Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help with applique signature quilt >

Help with applique signature quilt

Help with applique signature quilt

Old 02-02-2016, 06:33 AM

Default Help with applique signature quilt

I need some basic help with an applique quilt. I have never done one of these before. At work we are having a 30th anniversary gala and my department head wants me to make a quilt to commemorate the event. They want to do a tree shaped design (applique) with leaves where people sign and date them. I may have to send out some leaves for people to sign and then return. Some may sign in person at the gala event.

So... my big question involves the quilting. I've search and watched many videos on applique, but don't really see HOW they do the quilting. Most of the videos are just about techniques like fusible applique vs. freezer paper, etc. Do you do the applique stitching (assuming I am doing a machine stitch around the edge) on the quilt top ONLY or do I do the machine stitching through the whole quilt sandwich? And then, do I just quilt around the applique? I assume I don't quilt on top of the applique?

I'm trying to figure out how much of the quilt to have done prior to the event. I THINK I will make the top (without any applique). I'm picturing a cream background center piece with just a single border around the edge. I'd probably like to have the tree part appliqued on already. And maybe some of the leaves if I get a few ahead of time.

So does that mean I should have the top, batting, and backing together. And the tree (and maybe a few leaves) appliqued through all layers. Then maybe the whole thing basted together?