Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help-with my machine (broken needle; error code)--Viking Sapphire/Tribute >

Help-with my machine (broken needle; error code)--Viking Sapphire/Tribute

Help-with my machine (broken needle; error code)--Viking Sapphire/Tribute

Old 07-10-2012, 02:48 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
krysti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 381
Default Help-with my machine (broken needle; error code)--Viking Sapphire/Tribute

HELP! I just started sewing today, and I get this message "main motor overloaded-please wait". Ok. I discovered I broke the needle. The tip of the needle came out with the thread. However, I cannot get the rest of the needle out (it's in needle down position). Every time I try to lift the pressure foot (no lever; it's a button); I get the same message. If I try to lift the needle (no needle up/down lever; it's a button) same message. I have the walking foot attached, so thought it would be easier to get to the needle if I took that off; but.....no because the needle won't come out of the hole in the foot. I cannot figure out a way to get ahold of the needle to remove it, and I keep freaking out about the main motor overloaded message. PLEASE HELP!! Thank you!!
krysti is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 02:57 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 5,371
Default

I have an older Viking - not the same model as you but here goes. Have you turned the machine off/on again? Unplugged it and left it off for a period of time (hour or so)? Can you turn the handwheel manually when the machine is on? A friend has the Sapphire and had, if I remember correctly, a similar issue. Turning the machine on/off had no impact. She took it to the shop and they simply turned the handwheel manually and resolved the issue! Hope this helps and you don't need to take it for repair!
NJ Quilter is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 02:58 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Digitizingqueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Charlotte North Carolina
Posts: 491
Default

I suggest you make a call to your dealer or to Viking, that error sound a little intense
Digitizingqueen is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 03:04 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
krysti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 381
Default

NJ Quilter--THANK YOU!!!!!! I had turned the machine on/off several times and kept having the same issue, and had unplugged it as well. I'm a bit embarrassed to say, I didn't think to turn the handwheel (in fact, I forgot it had one lol). When the things I was trying weren't working and I kept seeing that major error message; I guess I kinda panicked. I feel so embarrassed and dumb , but so glad you came to my rescue. Now hopefully she's a good girl and behaves correctly once I get this needle replaced.
krysti is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 03:11 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
katier825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 7,082
Default

It has happened occasionally to me on my Sapphire too. I shut off, unplug for awhile and it resets itself. It does that when it overheats too. A note of caution for you. If you happen to put in a single hole needle plate, be sure to make a note to yourself to change it before switching to a decorative stitch! I had that error happen because the needle kept hitting the plate. It was a few minutes before I realized why. Only when I lifted up the fabric to try to cut the thread and noticed it. I felt so stupid! Now it is slightly off center.
katier825 is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 04:30 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 160
Default

I had to laugh because I did the same thing - panic at that message on my Sapphire - it does have a learning curve this machine. But if you think about it it is just a message it does not mean our machines are burning up because the beauty of this machine is that it shuts itself down. I have been using my machine now for about a month and just love it.
Petey is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 05:46 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
1000projects's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Carmel Indiana
Posts: 440
Default

I have a Sapphire, which is a great machine - but I love my vintage singer which will NEVER give a computer error message, lol.
1000projects is offline  
Old 02-05-2020, 05:58 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Richmond ,Virginia
Posts: 1,313
Default

My machine 930 has shot that error up....just wait or hit ok....it does have needles up downlink at foot picture near fix button...hit button it will move.,,,,it does take awhile to get used to the 930 .Love mine
topper1 is offline  
Old 02-06-2020, 06:14 AM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,006
Default

I'm chuckling at you forgetting the handwheel. Been there, done that!!
QuiltMom2 is offline  
Old 02-06-2020, 06:21 AM
  #10  
Super Member
 
juliasb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Waterford Michigan
Posts: 2,728
Default

I to have been threre and one that with the Juki I am currently using. I forget there is a wheel that can turn to resolve the needle breaking issue. I also keep a pair of needle nose jewelry pliers handy to get a hold of the needle shaft as my fingers are pretty clumsy theses days.
juliasb is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ArizonaQuilts1
Main
17
02-05-2020 06:03 PM
craftyone27
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
15
01-24-2020 09:00 AM
kbryan
Main
7
06-18-2012 04:44 PM
kheliwud
Main
13
05-03-2011 02:08 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.