Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: How do I find machines that have an "endless bobbin"?

How do I find machines that have an "endless bobbin"?

I'm new to long arm machines, are there any older machines out there that use an endless bobbin? I don't know how to find them? I've tried a few searches but not having any luck. I'd sure appreciate hearing from some of you veterans out there! :~)

I don't mean the kind of machine that rewinds the bobbin automatically for you when it runs out. I'm looking for a machine that has no bobbin at all, but uses a cone of thread for the lower thread instead of a bobbin.
    Last edited by Christine-; 02-09-2012 at 06:13 PM.
    https://quiltdasher.blogspot.com

I like to make lists. I also like to leave them laying on my sewing table and then guess what's on the list while at the fabric store. Fun game.

I have a longarm but never heard of an endless bobbin.

I will be interested in finding out too. I get so tired if changing bobbins when I use my machines. Guess thats why I prefer hand sewing.

Don't think it's possible to have a longarm with an endless bobbin. Would be the most fantastic invention for us quilters though...

never heard of it on any machine. It would be cool.
    http://www.skillpages.com/DonnaValleyquiltermo
    Sweet Dreams come from under Cozy Quilts made with love.
    Life is short, take time to enjoy it. Play with your kids and g-kids,
    and do what you can for others.

Blog Entries
    I have heard of only one model of machine that utilized and endless bobbin, and it is a very vintage sewing machine (not a longarm). It was designed so that a spool of thread was fed in from underneath, eliminating the need to wind bobbins. Apparently the design was no very successful, because it never caught on.