Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How Do You Prepare Your Quilt To Enter In A Show? >

How Do You Prepare Your Quilt To Enter In A Show?

How Do You Prepare Your Quilt To Enter In A Show?

Old 09-13-2015, 12:44 PM

Default How Do You Prepare Your Quilt To Enter In A Show?

I would like to hear from those of you who show quilts in judged shows. I have never entered a quilt in a show, but am thinking about it. But I have no idea what should be done to it before entry. For example, should the quilt be left unwashed? Is it a necessity to "block" it? Never done it and not sure how to do it. A hanging sleeve is needed, is there a proper way to do that? Should the quilt be rolled and not folded? What other things or tips should I know??
Old 09-13-2015, 12:47 PM
Power Poster

Good questions - I want to know, too.
Old 09-13-2015, 01:06 PM

I am by no means an expert but in 2 different shows I have entered locally both had different rules regarding labels and hanging sleeves, so definitely read the information regarding the show you are thinking of entering.
As far as washing, most of my quilts were unwashed except for one which really need blocking (big lesson learned with that one )
Enjoy the experience, it is so nice to see your quilts displayed and even if it doesn't win anything it might just inspire someone else to give something a try or to enter a show too, and we all love eye candy.

I would love to hear any other tips.
Old 09-13-2015, 02:06 PM

Almost the last thing I do is to run a ....well, phooey, I have forgotten the name of it...one of those roller things with sticky tape on them. The goal is to catch any threads, either attached or that were just floating in my sewing room. (Is it called a lent roller????)