Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: How many quilt on reg sewing machine?

How many quilt on reg sewing machine?

How many do not have a Long arm machine and just use their reg sewing machine to quilts? Or do a lot that just have a reg machine .. Machine sew the top, but then get them quilted somewhere else? I am getting ready to get a new machine, it will not be a long arm.... I am brand new to quilting and I am just wondering how all this works. I realize larger quilts may not be able to be quilted on a reg sewing machine.. But maybe I am wrong!

I sew on a regular sewing machine, one I've had for 20 years that still works perfectly. I have not quilted a large quilt but have made several smaller projects - mug rugs, placements, dog quilts. I am practicing to machine quilt a lap-sized quilt. Up until now I have either tied those or done a combination of hand quilting and tying. I've read on here of some who have done a regular sized quilt (twin ?) on their regular sewing machine. I'm not that confident yet.
    Make it a scrappy happy day!

Blog Entries
    I quilted on my domestic machine before I got my midarm. My preference is definitely the midarm -- much faster for me, plus much easier for me to move the machine instead of the quilt.

You can quilt large quilts on a domestic machine by splitting up the batting. Basically you layer the sandwich as usual, but then remove one-third of the batting from each side so there is less bulk under the arm. Marti Mitchell has an entire book out on different methods for quilting large quilts on domestic sewing machines. (Be sure to get more details on how to do the method I described before tackling it; there are a few steps to doing it so that the batting goes back together accurately.)