Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How much would this bug you? >

How much would this bug you?

How much would this bug you?

Old 08-28-2011, 04:16 PM

Hi all, I've been here a couple of times but I'm basically a newbie. I'm working on my second quilt: it's a red and black pattern based on the "Quilt in a Day" log cabin pattern but I'm using 5 inch strips instead of 2.5 inch strips (need to keep it unintimidating!) It's for my six year old son, so I very much doubt he's going to care about the thing that's bugging me, but you know how it is ...

So for the first red square I discovered after I'd already done some cutting that I didn't have enough fabric for all 12 blocks. I had enough for eight. But that didn't bother me too much because I was able to find a similar fabric and I figured I'd just arrange the blocks in such a way that the four different squares were grouped together.

Well I just finished sewing the top this afternoon only to discover that I'd flipped two of the pieces over and now one of the four squares is off to the edge of the quilt, and the other three are grouped in the middle. So I'm wondering, if this were you ... would this bug you enough that you'd rip out those two squares and flip them around? Or is that totally neurotic for a six year old's quilt?

I've attached some pictures: the first it might be kind of hard to see (excuse the half circle shadow at the bottom) but you can see where the four red squares are supposed to be, and the wrong one is the upper of the two on the left. In the second photo you can see where the square is mismatched and in the third you can see how it's supposed to look.

Thanks in advance!!!

Becki

The square above is the wrong fabric!
[ATTACH=CONFIG]248263[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails attachment-248256.jpe   attachment-248257.jpe   attachment-248258.jpe  
Old 08-28-2011, 04:21 PM

If it's going to bug you redo it but I would not take it out
Old 08-28-2011, 04:23 PM
Power Poster