Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: I have a question for Janome MC 6300, 6600, 6500 owners

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Spring, TX
    Posts
    5

    I have a question for Janome MC 6300, 6600, 6500 owners

    I purchased my Janome 6300 in March. Since that time I have had several instances of the machine slowing down and "whining"....like it just couldn't go anymore. I thought maybe it was due to the iron being plugged in at the same time and "drawing" some of the power. Tonight I was at a free motion quilting class and in the beginning it was fine then it acted like it just didn't have the power to go and made the "whining" sound....not like it would normally sound. There were about 8 other ladies with their machines...all of them computerized....and none of them had any issues with not having enough power. Anyone else have this same problem? Does it require that much electricity to run? I have searched the internet for others having this same issue and have found nothing....I'm sure if I bring it back to where I bought it, it will work fine. Isn't that how it always goes Thanks for any help you can give.

  2. #2
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,871
    I run my Janome (different model) with the iron, A/C and CD player all on, so it shouldn't be an overloaded circuit problem. Have you check for lint and possible trapped threads? The only other thing I can think of, is if you're accidentally hitting the presser foot lever (can't think of what it's called - but the bar you press with your knee, to raise the presser foot), while you sew.
    Neesie


    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out.
    ~Richard Dawkins

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Spring, TX
    Posts
    5
    Nessie...no I don't have the presser foot lever thingy attached. I cleaned out all the lint before starting. I was satisfied the possible overload circuit problem, but if you use it running the a/c, iron and cd it can't be that.

  4. #4
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,871
    Maybe someone will have an answer for you, in the morning. There's got to be someone out there, who's run into that problem, before!
    Neesie


    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out.
    ~Richard Dawkins

  5. #5
    Super Member EasyPeezy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,081
    Is you machine still under warranty? I think there are two possibilities.
    Either you got a lemon to start with or you power starved your machine by running
    it on the same circuit as your iron. Of course you can run all kinds of machines
    at the same time as long as they are on different circuits. I think you should
    take your machine to the dealer and have it checked. Also, it might be wise
    to ask your electrician to check the wiring in your house. Ask him to put
    your sewing machine and iron on two different circuits.

  6. #6
    Super Member DOTTYMO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England Alton Towers
    Posts
    6,640
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a janome and have not had his problem with it. It runs very well and is quiet. Ring the dealer you purchased it from and see hat they say.
    P.s. have you checked the lead? Is it coming out of he holey thing on machine. Any holes etc especially if you have young animals. Are the leads inside the plug loose.? Al, these have caused similiar problems with other machines. Slows down then comes back when wire is jiggled.
    Finished is better than a UFO

  7. #7
    QM
    QM is offline
    Power Poster QM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Northern California mountains
    Posts
    12,538
    I just had this problem with my Janome 1600PDB. I took it in for service. Unless you have really limited electrical circuits, those should have nothing to do with it. Do you have a lint build up? This could also cause a problem.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    583
    I thought I was having low power with my 6600 but it was that my foot feed was up against something that was keeping it from depressing well. Also, sometimes I think my feed dogs are okay but they are clogged deeper than I can see. I've also not plugged the foot feed in tightly enough. No chance heavy fabric was piled in front or that you were pulling hard as you feed the fabric through?

  9. #9
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    11,952
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a janome that went through this- slowed right down to seeming like it just couldn't make another stitch- I took it back to the shop- they said it needed to go back in for 'warranty work- and sent it off- 2 weeks later it is back- no real explanation- but they seemed to have dealt with the issue- if you are still under warranty I would be sending it in- it has nothing to do with your 'power' source- it is something wrong with the machine.
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Spring, TX
    Posts
    5
    Thank you all. When this happened last night, I had already cleaned the lint out so that is eliminated. Pedal was free and clear of anything. I was in a FMQ class so there wasn't really an issue with heavy material. I don't think my electrical currents are bad as this has happened both at home and then last night at a building. No one else seemed to have an issue so I am assuming electrical currents weren't the issue then either. It's brand new, well March 2013 brand new. I don't sew that much as I bought it with the intention of getting me to sew more. But overall I have not been 100% satisfied with it. Maybe it's because it does have some sort of problem. Again...thank you all. I have googled, and googled, and googled until I am blue in the face....no instances of this anywhere. But glad to know someone has had this same problem.

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NE Pa.
    Posts
    1,684
    Call your dearler an take it back. I have three janome's an never had a problem. There is definitly something wrong that needs to be fixed.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    149
    I bought a new 6600 and had to replace the foot pedal. I noticed the machine was slowing down, and it eventually stopped. I'd heard others on the Janome forum talk about having to replace the foot pedals. At least it was still under warranty, so I didn't have to pay for the new pedal. I also had a problem with the tension knob slipping all the time. I actually taped it in place to keep it from moving. I took it in and they tightened the knob. It's still a little loose, but it doesn't just slip on it's own. I would set it on 4, and the next thing I knew it had gone down to 0 all by itself. I don't know if your problem is the pedal, but you need to take your machine in and have them look at it.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Spring, TX
    Posts
    5
    Actually a friend of mine suggested the pedal too. Said she had had an incident where the pedal was bad. I would've never thought of that!! She let me borrow hers and I will try that as well as taking it in. Thanks for the feedback :0

  14. #14
    Super Member DOTTYMO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England Alton Towers
    Posts
    6,640
    Blog Entries
    1
    If it is a short in the wiring where it is moving and coming separating it would happen anywhere. A small broken lead in the wire causes many problems. Please just go all over the wire and where it is wired into plug very carefully looking for a loose section or a split . If it is this it could cause a fire when shorting.
    Coming from an electrical family if I miss this they are very short on helping. Just tighten the leads in the plug a little.
    Finished is better than a UFO

  15. #15
    Super Member janetter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Stockton, NJ
    Posts
    1,336
    Blog Entries
    1
    Definitely call the dealer. No machine should run like you described. Wishing you luck and getting to sew more
    It all about the Journey!! Enjoy It

  16. #16
    Super Member justflyingin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jozefow, Poland
    Posts
    4,500
    Quote Originally Posted by Aria View Post
    I bought a new 6600 and had to replace the foot pedal. I noticed the machine was slowing down, and it eventually stopped. I'd heard others on the Janome forum talk about having to replace the foot pedals. At least it was still under warranty, so I didn't have to pay for the new pedal. I also had a problem with the tension knob slipping all the time. I actually taped it in place to keep it from moving. I took it in and they tightened the knob. It's still a little loose, but it doesn't just slip on it's own. I would set it on 4, and the next thing I knew it had gone down to 0 all by itself. I don't know if your problem is the pedal, but you need to take your machine in and have them look at it.
    When I had to replace a foot pedal my dealer told me, "too bad, but the warranty only covers the actual motor--the motor, not the face plate, pedals, etc." (That's here in Poland.)

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Spring, TX
    Posts
    5
    I went ahead and took it in to my dealer. They called today to say they ran diagnositics on it and he said he was able to get it to do the same thing that was happening to me. He called Janome who suggested that it "might" be the pedal. So they are replacing the pedal free and if that doesn't work we will try again. Hopefully this is it. I will updated. Thanks for all the responses

  18. #18
    Member Eyelets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    48
    I am coming to this discussion very late. I have the Janome 6300 and never experienced this problem. Mine cruises along at top speed as long as I want it to, and sometimes it has more power than I do! I hope you got this machine back to the dealer for service! This sounds like a warranty fix and I hope you will love your machine in future! Could you update us on how it is doing? Wishing you the best!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.