Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: I want a cutting table!!!

I want a cutting table!!!

I am a newbie, but oldie! lol......I am new to making quilts but a new senior citizen. I am having to get down on my floor ( laminate) to cut my fabric. It hurts my knees! I want a table to cut on. I have seen that JoAnn's has cutting tables pretty reasonable....I like the portablility of them. Any views on this? Thanks

I have that cutting table and I love it!! It is a good height for most people, has two wings that can be up or down. I recommend it:-)
    Faith is not about everything turning out OK; Faith is about being OK no matter how things turn out.
    Renee

There are lots of options for cutting tables, depending on the space you have and your budget. I got two inexpensive bookcases from Staples and laid a solid core door on top. That gives me lots of room for cutting and stacking, and it's the perfect height for me. Others have found that their kitchen counter is the perfect height for cutting. I looked at the JoAnn's cutting tables, but they were smaller than I wanted and I thought they might be shaky. Others on the board have reported success with them.

the reviews aren't very good and I'm kinda nervous about trying it.

We found an old dining table in a 2nd hand store, complete with very convenient silverware drawers and I use it as my cutting table and sewing table. My husband attached a plug strip to the opposite side of the table as well for easy plug access. The silverware drawers are a dream for scissors, rotaries, thread, needles, etc.
    Lynne