Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Keeping FMQ stitches even

Keeping FMQ stitches even

I've been attempting to do FMQ for the past 2 years and it's really not getting into me. I can't keep my curves even when sewing circles and stitches are never even. The biggest problem I have is not knowing the direction the needle should go and I always get caught in a corner. All quilters say practice makes perfect but perhaps FMQ is just not for me.

Is there any advice on how I could have more even stitches...should I go faster, slower etc? I need lots of help here before I give up on FMQ totally.

Blog Entries
    If you can practise this. Middle speed with no foot control. Keep feet up and just try. At different speeds ,oing the fabric .i tried this. And it did help. Rules are all wrong but it is one way of getting use to just the fabric move.
    Finished is better than a UFO

Power Poster
    I bought my Bernina with the stitch regulator because I was frustrated with my micro stitches. It isn't fool proof but my stitches are much better. If you have a speed control on your machine, set it at the speed you FMQ best at. You can put your pedal to the metal and just worry about your hands moving the quilt. I found this the most helpful before I got the BSR.

I have found using the stop and start button on my Janome 6600 and having the speed at medium - medium slow allows me to concentrate on just moving the fabric - it's helping to make my stitches more consistent.

Try free motion quilting with the feed dogs up. I tend to pull the fabric when I was free motion quilting, and I would end up pulling the needle etc. and you just don't get good results when you pull the fabric. See if this helps.