Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need help with sashing. >

Need help with sashing.

Need help with sashing.

Old 12-15-2014, 04:41 PM

Default Need help with sashing.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-UOACfBDBCg...border.jpg.jpg

Can someone tell me what is the best method for making this sashing and border for my quilt?(click link above.) Should I cut the 3 strips the size of my quilt squares and sew them on individually? Or should I sew three long strips together first and then cut to size? The corner squares look small so I am thinking the strips are each 1 1/2'. They would stitch out to 1" using a 1/4" seam allowance.
Enlarge the image so you can see the 3 strips. There is a white, dark, white making three.
Obviously I am a novice. Thanks.

Last edited by Bobblehead; 12-15-2014 at 04:55 PM.
Old 12-15-2014, 05:39 PM
Power Poster

I did a similar pieced sashing. I sewed 3 WOF strips, then sub cut to the length of the blocks. Mine were also cut at 1.5", so the sashing finished at 3". I pieced 9 patches for the cornerstones. Well worth the effort. Looking at the picture, the sashing looks like it finishes about the same size as the HSTs in the corner of the blocks. That might be a bit smaller than 3"
Old 12-15-2014, 07:05 PM

I agree with PaperPrincess to sew the 3 sashing strips together first, then cut the 3-strip sets in the right lengths. I would also sew the strips together from opposite ends to keep them straight since they are so narrow.
Old 12-15-2014, 07:42 PM

The block name is Goose in the Pond. What size is your finished block?