Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Novice Quilter trying to piece together stripes, please help

Hi Everybody, I only have completed 3 quilts and they were made with BIG (at least 12"X12" blocks). While doing the September FabShopHop I stumbled across GORGEOUS floral fabrics on sale for $2/yard, and I bought a lot! Not content with the florals, I searched and found the coordinating stripes and a plaid for around $4/yard. Again, being a novice, I didn't know how much to purchase, so I bought a lot more! Anyway, I tried my hand at piecing together a block called Aunt Eliza's Star. From this I discovered 2 things - 1) I am not good enough to work with triangles yet; and 2) trying to line up stripes is not as easy as it looks. [IMG]http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/c...ilting/159.jpg[/IMG]

So here are the fabrics I have - the striped plaid and floral. The plaid and floral stripe repeat every 2 inches, and I have white, blue, pink, and green but not a lot of blue because it was almost sold out.
    [IMG]http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/c...ilting/161.jpg[/IMG]
    I also have yards of ribbon florals in blue, green, and white.
    [IMG]http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/c...ilting/162.jpg[/IMG]
    I have small floral groups in pink and blue, and a limited amount of all plaid:
    [IMG]http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/c...ilting/163.jpg[/IMG]
    And I also have a large pink ribbon floral on green background, and that was the center of the sample block in the first picture.

So what can I do? Should I just cut out squares and patch together a nine block? Trying to line up those stripes is nerve-wracking. Any advice from experienced quilters would be much appreciated! Thanks!