Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Opinions?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Fulton Missouri
    Posts
    109

    Opinions?

    So, here is what I am thinking for the backing for my quilt. Picked some fabrics I thought might look alright together for the back. Just wanting opinions before I actually start stitching.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Power Poster Boston1954's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    East Oklahoma - pining for Massachusetts
    Posts
    10,473
    It looks just fine to me. A nice way to use up some medium sized strips.
    Life is not a movie. No one is going to yell "CUT" when you make a mistake. - Anne L. Fulton

    I am from the South....39 miles south of Boston.

  3. #3
    Super Member Teen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Southwest Idaho
    Posts
    4,173
    Looks pretty together except that one dark top fabric seems glaring compared to the rest of the soft colors. But, it's the back and may blend with the front. Not sure since that is not pictured.
    Quilting therapy for the therapist...
    My Summertime Swap blocks: https://www.quiltingboard.com/member...bums19923.html

  4. #4
    Super Member jmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Boothbay Maine
    Posts
    7,941
    Blog Entries
    2
    Without knowing what your quilt top colors are, I think these look great together. I love scrappy backs for some of my projects.
    attitude is everything...the rest will fall into place.

  5. #5
    Super Member madamekelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central Willamette Valley, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    7,660
    Blog Entries
    1
    Without the color referenced above by “teen”, your backing will have a “Shabby chic”flavor. Put another soft color where the gray is, and it will look two sided. Nice looking colors for all of the others though.
    If you always do, what you have always done, The results never change. Change is the wings you give yourself.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Fulton Missouri
    Posts
    109
    Okay, finally done. Here is a pic showing both the back and front (front flipped up. The back is the same on both ends. The bottom part of the pic is the top, and the top part of the pic is the back. Also a pic of the hand embroidery done on the big green blocks on the front.Name:  quiltdone.jpg
Views: 215
Size:  704.1 KBName:  embroidery.jpg
Views: 181
Size:  514.6 KB

    It should finish out to a queen or close to it once it's bound. Now to get it all basted and in the hoop for hand quilting! I have named it "Perfect Imperfection"
    Last edited by Tiny Tigger; 05-19-2018 at 09:42 AM.

  7. #7
    Super Member wildyard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY, north of Syracuse Area
    Posts
    6,133
    Your embroidery is impeccable and I love the butterfly pattern!
    Linda Wedge White

    I believe UFOs are like scraps, ferns and dust bunnies. Once you get two, they send spores out into the air and more just happen anywhere the spores meet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.