Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: question?

I would like to try to make a disappearing 9 patch but was wondering if anybody has ever made a scrappy one, all the ones I have found seem to have a more uniform colour scheme. I have quite a few bits of flannel that I would like to use (enough of each to make one block) but there are lights & darks. Any suggestions?

I'm no expert - in fact I'm a new quilter, but I've fallen in love with the dissapearing 9-patch pattern and I'm currently working on 2 of them. One of them is fairly uniform, with a limited number of fabrics and with standard 2-colour 9-patch blocks, cut up.

The other one is a mini-quilt (for my quilt guild's challenge) which I made from nine different charm squares, to make a single 9-patch.

I like the one with 9 diferent fabrics *much* better, and that's how I'm going to do them from now on.

So my vote is - go ahead and make a scrappy 9-patch - I bet it will look beautiful!

Jan

Banned
    it can be done scrappy.

here's a link to 2 scrappy D9P

http://justpurelovely.typepad.com/ju...t-a-tutor.html

Here is a link to the D9P using 5" charms:

http://www.quiltingboard.com/posts/list/20174.page

And I'm thinking about doing a big quilt with just scraps cut into 4" or 5" blocks....

Wow, I really like the scrappy ones. Maybe even more than the traditional ones.

I love the scrappy ones. I will have to try that soon. I think I will make one for my twin. Our b'day is coming up! We'll be 27 again (haha)

Thanks, that's what I'm going to do, I really think that DP9 is great, looks complicated but isn't really (I say this before I have started one.)

Quote Originally Posted by Susy