Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Redwork question

Redwork question

This is my first time doing redwork though I have done little bits of hand embroidery here and there in the past before. My question is this, the pattern calls for Pellon fusible (very light weight) but doesn't say which one. Are they talking about Wonder Under? I've used Wonder Under before.

I have HeatnBond Lite Iron on adhesive by Therm O Web . It was given to me and I've never used it but from the directions it sounds like it might work. I don't have much extra fabric so before I iron anything on to it I would really like to make sure I'm going to be able to hand stitch through it.

Any help would be truly appreciated!! Kelly
    Kelly

This isn't an exact answer to your question, but I recently embroidered a Halloween sampler. The pattern had you put a layer of muslin, cut same size, behind the piece as it was worked. It helps to hide thread tails and traveling thread when the piece is completed. It turned out very nicely.
    I did baste the 2 pieces through the center and around the outside. You could baste more if the piece is very large.
    kathyd

You can use a really this batting instead of the fusible pellon. Like Kathyd I basted it to the embroidery fabric.
    DonnaR
    Grammy to Isaiah and Ruth

Power Poster
    Are you planning to fuse the Redwork to something? If so you could use Wonderunder after it is done. If they recommend using a light wight fusible on the back of the fabric to stitch through, I don't have a recommendation because I don't use it. As long as the base fabric is good quality I do my Redwork directly on it with no backing. Maybe someone else who uses a backing will recommend a brand.

Blog Entries