Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Rowenta Travel Iron >

Rowenta Travel Iron

Rowenta Travel Iron

Old 06-10-2011, 10:15 PM

I've been using this little iron for a couple of years and absolutely love it. But the mechanism that allows the handle to lock in the 'up' position has broken and I haven't been able to 'jerry-rig' it to stay up for use. So, I'm getting ready to shop for another one. My internet search has not revealed another iron like this that might be any better, but thought I'd check you all of you to see if I'm missing something. I really don't mind spending a little more for a really good iron but would like to stay with this small, light weight size. Opinions PLEASE.
Old 06-10-2011, 10:20 PM

I'd contact Rowenta - tell them how much you have LOVED your iron for 2 years.. explain your problem.

They may have a fix...
or even send you a replacement. :)
Old 06-11-2011, 02:59 AM

I just bought mine at JoAnne Fabrics.
Old 06-11-2011, 03:37 AM

That's exactly what happened to mine, too. It was my seond Rowenta iron to go bad in less than 18 mos. after purchase; I won't be buying another.

My replacement is a bit bigger, but not as large as many of the irons on the market and cost less than $10 at WalMart. Gets hot, stays hot, no auto off - love it. It's a Proctor Silex Traditions.
Old 06-11-2011, 04:17 AM
Banned

Contact Rowenta. I have knowledge they don't think there is a problem with their irons. Let them know there is.
Old 06-11-2011, 12:06 PM

They sure get alot of Rowenta irons at Savers.
Must have problems with them.
Mine cost $5.50 but cannot use the steam it sputters and pops, dry it works fine. Nice iron for a cheap price.
I also bought the Rowenta travel iron at Joanns and love it.
Old 06-11-2011, 03:40 PM