Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
SCANT 1/4" SEAMS. >

SCANT 1/4" SEAMS.

SCANT 1/4" SEAMS.

Old 01-19-2011, 07:32 PM

I am new to this site because I needed to pass some questions by you seasoned quilters.....I have gained sooooo much precious knowledge from this message board, that for me as self-taught, has been nothing short of valuable! I began my first quilt long ago, but only got as far as blocks..However, when my first grandson was born last year, I vowed to make him (my little funny bunny) a quilt from gramma..well he's year old now and I just started sewing first block today (even though spent last 6 month's drawing blocks in EQ6).
My rotary cutting went VERY well, and all pieces are cut perfect (so I think)..I took out my 1/4" foot with guide and snapped it on, and placed a long strip of foam insulation (I believe goes around a door? dunno, got it from husbands garage! - comes off easy, but sticks great, and stands about 1/4" high) and proceeded to practice practice practice a 1/4" seam..with in several attempts, I could measure down each seam, and it was EXACT 1/4" (whew!!! was sweating this one)..So i began piecing my first block..all went well with first couple pieces as they measured same 2.5"...when I went to add "to" the block (i am making square in square, or framed square), the pieces were EXACTLY 1/8" longer...NOW, I figured OK....If a scant means 1/16th of inch then this would mean that at least I am sewing precisely..being that the 2 seams would account for the 1/8" overage...But upon researching, I found that the scant applies more to quilters who press seams to one side....I don't, I press mine open...Not to mention, when i measured and cut, I went just a hair beyond the fat marker on my ruler...Now that I think about this, I shouldn't be off at all due to fabric intake..or should I?