Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Sewing machine jamming after about 20 stitches. >

Sewing machine jamming after about 20 stitches.

Sewing machine jamming after about 20 stitches.

Old 11-01-2018, 05:12 PM

Default Sewing machine jamming after about 20 stitches.

I have a singer 4411. Im a newbie and dont know all there is about sewing. I have had this machine for under 12 months. Singer refused to warranty it and said return it to the retailer i purchased it at and buy another. Unfortunately first impressions of singer is horrible. And i wont buy another singer. Out of the box it was out of time, breaking needles, and jamming. I fixed the timing issue. But the jamming still is a issue. The jamming destoryed 3 bobbin cases beyond use. My top thread keeps jamming ontop of the bobbin case and shifting the bobbin case180°.
Old 11-01-2018, 05:23 PM
Power Poster

Hi and welcome to the board. Sorry about your issues, Singer machines are definitely not what they used to be but you have already found that out. It is possible the machine may still not be timed correctly and you may have damaged the hook with all the jams and broken needles.
Old 11-01-2018, 05:54 PM

I know it says that it's a "Heavy Duty" machine, but it isn't. You can't sew heavy fabrics on a Singer with a plastic bobbin basket. You can't use a heavy thread on that machine, either. Even piecing a quilt is a stretch for that machine. They jam. That's what they do best.

You'd be better off replacing it with an old, metal Kenmore with a front-loading oscillating hook (serial numbers starting with 158 are my favorites). Get one with built-in stitches, not with cams. Look for a standard low shank presser foot, not a super high shank. I can usually find them at the thrift store for less than $30. Here's what they look like on Google Images: https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&...mg.3n15-ThIdOI

Don't put any more effort into that machine. Use a vintage Kenmore until you can save up for a better machine.