Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Sigma Thread by Metro in Long Arm? >

Sigma Thread by Metro in Long Arm?

Sigma Thread by Metro in Long Arm?

Old 02-13-2013, 02:48 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
pumpkinpatchquilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,374
Default Sigma Thread by Metro in Long Arm?

I was reading on another forum that Sigma is a stronger thread by Metro made for high speed embroidery machines. Has anyone used this with success in their long arm? I am placing an order with them but I have heard a lot of issues with Metro breaking and shredding so I thought maybe Sigma would be better. They are the same price. Oh - and I have an older APQS if it makes a difference.

Thanks!
pumpkinpatchquilter is offline  
Old 02-13-2013, 03:07 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 12,468
Default

i suggest you purchase 1 spool/cone & try it out---everyone's machine behaves differently and a thread i may have ton's of problems with may work great for you--and visa versa...it has been my (experience) that most of the embroidery threads i have don't work so well quilting===or regular sewing for that matter...but that's just what has happened to me...& not always- sometimes a thread out of my (embroidery threads box) works just fine....i never know why or when- so-if i want to try it- i try it on a (practice/scrap) piece & see how it goes- if it works-great, if not- i didn't mess up anything important & can try something different.
ckcowl is offline  
Old 02-13-2013, 03:40 PM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
dunster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
Posts: 14,200
Default

I'm wondering the same thing. I've used Metro very successfully in my longarm - occasionally some shredding, but that seems to only happen when I have an old needle, or the thread comes out of the path. I bought one of the packages with lots of thread colors several years ago, and now I've used up a lot of it. I was thinking about getting some of the Sigma next time I order.
dunster is offline  
Old 02-26-2013, 08:47 PM
  #4  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
pumpkinpatchquilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,374
Default

DUNSTER - just an update I thought you might be interested in. I was reading about how Masterpiece thread by Superior Threads (for Alex Anderson) was modified from a 2 ply piecing thread to 3 ply because so many people were having breakage issues in their machines. On another forum a woman received a letter inquiring about Sigma and they stated it was the same thread but had a higher tensile strength. I have a feeling Sigma is a 3 ply and Metro is the 2 ply. Metro is shinier while Sigma is slightly less shiny ... sort of a sign that this is likely the difference.

Thought I would share what I learned!
pumpkinpatchquilter is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mjpEncinitas
Links and Resources
26
11-28-2019 06:48 AM
Debapril
Main
8
11-20-2017 05:10 AM
DOTTYMO
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
7
11-22-2012 06:42 AM
DOTTYMO
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
3
09-17-2012 01:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.