Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
skipping stitches >

skipping stitches

skipping stitches

Old 06-06-2012, 11:02 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 39
Default skipping stitches

Started to machine quilt a baby quilt About half done and the machine starts to skip stitches.
I changed the needle, re thread it and cleaned the lint from everywhere I could.
ANy suggestions before I take it IN

Lori
Mimi01 is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:24 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,293
Default

Could be so many things. Did you change the tread? Bobbin? Adjusted tension?
Sometimes I do the same things over and over and all of a sudden it works.
Also, have you turned the machine off and then back on? Just a thought.
Sunnye is offline  
Old 06-06-2012, 01:23 PM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
dunster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
Posts: 14,043
Default

If you're doing FMQ, be sure that you're not pulling the needle out of alignment when you move the fabric. This can cause the stitch not to form.
dunster is online now  
Old 06-06-2012, 03:03 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
jljack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina - But otherwise, NOTW
Posts: 7,940
Default

So many things can cause that, but rarely is it necessary to take the machine in to be "fixed". It's always something simple. You just have to start at the beginning and clean, put in a new needle, rethread everything.
jljack is offline  
Old 06-07-2012, 02:21 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 1,102
Default

When I was having this problem, I tried new thread, needle and bobbin... and a good cleaning. I think it was the bobbin that was causing the problem for me.
AshleyR is offline  
Old 06-07-2012, 03:30 AM
  #6  
Member
 
badaisie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Port Charlotte Fl
Posts: 48
Default

When I took my viking in for this he said to make sure the thread was coming off the spool straight and smooth. If it is a large spool it kinda curls as it comes off the spool leaving it loose and not feeding threw the tension even and leaving it loose. He said to put it on a holder so it has more space to even out. Or it could be the timing.
badaisie is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Rachelcb80
Main
89
08-25-2015 03:02 PM
aborning
Main
18
07-26-2013 01:30 AM
buslady
Main
18
12-11-2010 12:21 PM
Justquilting
Main
13
04-12-2009 04:36 PM
ruthie
Pictures
8
03-30-2008 05:29 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.