Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Stitches bunching at beginning of chain piecing >

Stitches bunching at beginning of chain piecing

Stitches bunching at beginning of chain piecing

Old 12-12-2015, 02:02 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,824
Default Stitches bunching at beginning of chain piecing

I need some help! I'm TRYING to do chain piecing and am getting very frustrated (because I have to over 300 of these LOL)

I have a brand new needle, the machine is running in tip top condition, it's clean, the threads are threaded properly, tension is perfect, AND I'm even holding the first threads at the beginning of the "chain".

BUT I keep getting this every third or fourth square and it's driving me nuts. The only way I can not get it is to "drag" the previous square as I start the new one, but then I get a huge gap of thread, and when I learned how to do this, there's no a huge gap.

I am sewing on my beloved Designer Topaz 30 ... any hints?

img_0286.jpg
MarionsQuilts is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 02:17 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 818
Default

Are you using the zig zag or the single needle plate? I'd use the single needle plate. That's all I can offer for help.
Pudge is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 02:19 PM
  #3  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,824
Default

PUdge - I don't know what that means LOL
MarionsQuilts is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 02:27 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
DogHouseMom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Knot Merrill, Southern Indiana
Posts: 5,781
Default

Marions ... there are two types of needle plates (the removable plate that sits under the presser foot and over the bobbin area). One type has a single hole in the middle, the other has a rectangle or U shape hole. The single hole place is ONLY for straight stitching as the needle would "crash" into the plate if you tried to zig-zag. The other plate with a longer U or rectangle shape allows the needle to perform in multiple positions along the horizontal (i.e. zig zag).

Note: If you are like me and you adjust your needle position for 1/4" seams, even though you are doing a straight stitch, you CANNOT use the single stitch plate.

If this is happening when you are chain stitching I suspect the problem is elsewhere though. There might be a burr on your needle, or a burr on your bobbin or bobbin case that is catching the thread every now and then and tugging the fabric under. You might also have a small piece of thread stuck *somewhere* in the bobbin area. I suspect the problem is most likely in the bobbin area ... something is catching and holding that thread for a split second. Possibly even a burr on the underside of your needle plate.
DogHouseMom is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 02:31 PM
  #5  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,824
Default

DogHouseMom - I suspect you are right! Thank you, and after supper (and before I throw the machine out the window!) I will take it apart and clean it AGAIN!!

Thanks very much!
MarionsQuilts is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 02:40 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
117becca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: dayton OH
Posts: 1,911
Default

put your pieces closer together when sewing the different blocks together.
117becca is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 02:44 PM
  #7  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 19,131
Default

I usually bump my pieces closer together. Why do these problems always happen at the wrong time when we are working hard to get stuff finished!!
ManiacQuilter2 is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 02:46 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: dallas tx.
Posts: 5,172
Default

That thread looks thick. What thread are you using? What weight? Try another size thread and see if that helps. Just an idea. Also make sure your needle is in correctly.
barny is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 04:27 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southington, CT
Posts: 818
Default

Hope everything got straightened out, Marions.
Pudge is offline  
Old 12-12-2015, 05:35 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
laynak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: N. California
Posts: 322
Default

This has happened to me when my fabric is a bit thin (i.e.: pre-washed batiks) and needs sizing or starch. And/or your thread looks like it may be thick for the fabric you're working with.
laynak is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
PBS
Pictures
17
10-18-2012 04:28 PM
Quilterwith?
Main
1
01-06-2012 04:04 PM
squawcorn256
Main
20
08-21-2011 06:58 AM
Sauce
Main
5
04-29-2009 06:13 PM
PBS
Introduce Yourself
19
11-10-2008 07:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.