Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34

Thread: Table runner opinion needed

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Chapel Hill NC
    Posts
    322

    Table runner opinion needed

    I'm making a table runner for my daughter. I need an some opinions. Its a wrought iron, glass top, round, casual kitchen table. Its 48" across. What length would be best for the runner? Overhang on each end? No overhang? How long? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member amelia0607's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    526
    I think of overhang for a more formal setting. Overhang gets in the way if left on table during use. And at least in my house casual eating area gets a lot more use than formal dining.

  3. #3
    Super Member tesspug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,954
    How about a hexagon shaped one. Connecting threads has a new table topper pattern that is nice. http://www.connectingthreads.com/pat...n__D55733.html
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KbmjFsusdQo
    I promise not to buy any more fabric until I see something I really like. Or it's on sale. Or I think it might match something.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Chapel Hill NC
    Posts
    322
    Quote Originally Posted by tesspug View Post
    How about a hexagon shaped one. Connecting threads has a new table topper pattern that is nice. http://www.connectingthreads.com/pat...n__D55733.html
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KbmjFsusdQo
    hmmm, thats a thought!

  5. #5
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,829
    Quote Originally Posted by Jo C View Post
    I'm making a table runner for my daughter. I need an some opinions. Its a wrought iron, glass top, round, casual kitchen table. Its 48" across. What length would be best for the runner? Overhang on each end? No overhang? How long? Thanks!
    Kids, cats and dogs always figure into my decision about overhang.

  6. #6
    Super Member irishrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    6,578
    Blog Entries
    19

  7. #7
    QM
    QM is offline
    Power Poster QM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Northern California mountains
    Posts
    12,538
    Overhang sounds like a poor plan in this case. Hexagon sounds good.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Lizzytish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Eastern USA
    Posts
    657
    The hexagon one looks real easy
    may you be in heaven before the devil knows your dead!
    Liz

  9. #9
    Super Member patchsamkim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Fox Valley Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,932
    Hexagon would be a great shape....even square would be better than rectangular on the table. Another possibility would be a round one, but that could be more difficult to make.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Gatormom3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    FL and NC
    Posts
    719
    Strata Star would be great on a round table.

  11. #11
    Super Member DOTTYMO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England Alton Towers
    Posts
    6,640
    Blog Entries
    1
    How about spices spiral runner ,
    . Very quick easy and it can be done with 10' wedge if you don't have 9' .
    Finished is better than a UFO

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Chapel Hill NC
    Posts
    322
    Thanks everyone, you've given me some great ideas!

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Greenwood, AR
    Posts
    455
    I have a round table and don't like a "runner". Would much rather have a topper and hexagon is perfect!

  14. #14
    Super Member citruscountyquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Hernando FL
    Posts
    1,628
    I have a round table in an informal dining area. I use quilts on it for table cloths all the time. When they get dirty I wash them. Granted I don't have small children and wouldn't do this with children. I use square quilt and often will round off the corners and/or scallop the edges to give it a more pleasing appearance on a round table. I like the weight of the quilted cloth as it drapes nicely and stays put. Lots of different patterns work and you can adjust the size by the size of the border.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Winston-Salem, North Carolina
    Posts
    935
    On a round table, a runner that hangs over the edges will not lay flat against the sides of the table. I vote for a round or hexagon shaped runner.

  16. #16
    Super Member CookyIN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    1,431
    I have only round tables and often put a square in the middle of it. Love the look. I agree that a runner that overhangs the edge wouldn't lay flat, so would rule that out.

  17. #17
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,391
    I don't think an overhang on a round table would work very well because of the curve.

  18. #18
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Charleston SC
    Posts
    10,724
    No overhang. I would choose a hexagon or round runner.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Durand, MI
    Posts
    749
    I would do a Swirling Stars - Card Trick table topper (free pattern). Here's one of mine (I've done 4).
    Name:  1-100_5094.JPG
Views: 873
Size:  122.7 KB
    "Proud Parent of an American Airman in Red Horse Squadron"
    "Proud Grandparent of an American Air Force SERE"

  20. #20
    Super Member Amythyst02's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ.
    Posts
    1,355
    I love to make table runners, but I do not make them with an overhang. Simple because I hope they use them daily and the overhang looks too formal to me.
    Amythyst

  21. #21
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    21,926
    Quote Originally Posted by Scissor Queen View Post
    Kids, cats and dogs always figure into my decision about overhang.
    Also, the klutz factor.

    I would say "no" to an overhang.

  22. #22
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    21,926
    OCtagon (eight-sided) might be another shape to consider.

  23. #23
    Super Member noveltyjunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    53 degrees North
    Posts
    1,660
    Blog Entries
    3
    A short and fitted overhang (think fitted bed sham) could be really useful and could not slide off. Could be really tricky to make though. Otherwise no overhang!
    Fortune favours the prepared mind
    "Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler." Albert Einstein

  24. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Hopewell, Ohio USA
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by Dollyo View Post
    I would do a Swirling Stars - Card Trick table topper (free pattern). Here's one of mine (I've done 4).
    Name:  1-100_5094.JPG
Views: 873
Size:  122.7 KB
    Dolly, love that table topper! Where do I find the free pattern, please?

  25. #25
    Senior Member Dakota Rose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, Ga
    Posts
    605
    Quote Originally Posted by suzyq2154 View Post
    Dolly, love that table topper! Where do I find the free pattern, please?
    Me to. Love it and the colors.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.