Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
trying to make the best of a BOM gone wrong >

trying to make the best of a BOM gone wrong

trying to make the best of a BOM gone wrong

Old 04-03-2024, 01:55 AM

Question trying to make the best of a BOM gone wrong

I am just stumped as to what to do. I have been working on the Craftsy BOM for 2017 called the Blazing star. Its a beautiful quilt. I have everything done, ready to put the units together.
But they don't seem to be fitting together. This quilt contains a lone star and I know these are hard. But in putting the units together, the star doesn't want to fit together. I am having to make setting triangles larger than the pattern has stated as they do not fit. i have tried to follow this one to the letter. But then I hit y-seams. I really don't have much experience, but her method doesn't work, nor does the video from Kaye Woods on Youtube.
Should I just say the heck with it and take what I have made and try my own design? It is such a beautiful quilt and it seems like I am admitting this had gotten the best of me and I am not as experienced of a quilter than I thought I was. I taught myself to quilt about 8 years ago, but I admit there are a couple of things I haven't tried to tackle and y-seams is one. But it isn't just the y-seams. My diamond units all seem to be the same size, but when I add setting triangles, that doesn't work either. I am just so confused/depressed over this. I have been able to make any quilt I have tried to make. Does this happen to others? Is there a quilt that you just can't seem to do correctly? Do I give up and just try to make something improve with those blocks or rip it out and try it again? I am fairly certain I did all of my stirp sets correctly. But what if this is my problem? I have used most of my fabric on those things!
Just some honest advice...if if were you, what would you do next?
Thanks in advance!
Jacquie Fanning aka CharmednMissouri