Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: What backing would you recommend?

What backing would you recommend?

This is a baseball themed quilt I am doing for my grandson. What are your suggestions for the backing fabric? He want's something soft. Flannel?

Forgive me if I put the fabric designs together poorly. I am still a beginner. :-)

Name:  JJ's quilt.png
Views: 428
Size:  339.4 KB

Nice quilt. Flannel is always a good choice for something warm and soft.

Flannel would be fine just be sure to wash and dry it because some of it shrinks a lot. Your layout is wonderful, looks great!

Looks great! Flannel is always nice.

Regular cotton or flannel. Would be nice if you found a coordinating baseball theme print, bit if not a stripe backing would be great on that quilt.
    I just want to spend the rest of my life laughing.

I'm sure you could easily find flannel that has a baseball theme if that is what you wanted to use.

Flannel would be great. If you can't find some themed flannel you could go with the navy blue or deep red

My grandkids love the minkee-backed quilts I gave them last year for Christmas (even the 16 year old!!) I hear that minkee is not the easiest to quilt, so I did have my LA er quilt them. They all 3 turned out great. Love your baseball quilt!

Linda in Missouri

What a great looking quilt. I agree with a flannel backing but wash before cutting it. Flannel does shrink a lot more than quilting cotton. Your grandson is going to love that quilt.

Great quilt! I like the flannel idea for the back, just be sure to prewash the flannel like others have said.

Can you find a flannel with a baseball theme print? I also urge pre-washing and hot drying.
    Retired math teacher --
    I CAN FIGURE IT OUT!