Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: I may be revamping pattern storage? Your opinions appreciated.

Question I may be revamping pattern storage? Your opinions appreciated.

I've been quilting for about 24 years and over the course of time I have accumulated many, many patterns. About 17 years ago, I went to the binder method for storing my patterns. Putting the pattern in the sheet protector and then putting the sheet protector in the appropriate binder. I probably have about 20+ binders.

About every 2 years or so, I would go through each binder and purge any patterns that no longer appealed to me.

Last night I was thinking about the storage method that I currently use and if there was a way to improve upon it. Something I am considering is scanning in each of the patterns that I want to keep and storing them digitally. I would then give away or recycle the hard copies.

I could then just bring up the pattern digitally and work off the electronic device, or if I really felt I needed a hard copy I could print it out. Yes, I would have a back-up in case my device crashes.

Has anyone done this? How did it work for you? Are you regretting your decision?

TIA for your reply.

I store most of my patterns digitally. Most were downloaded from a website. Many I copied from a website, pasted into a word document and edited to make it a smaller file(cut unnecessary pictures, reduced sizes of pictures, etc). A bit of work but I find if you bookmark a web page it could(and probably will) disappear over time.