Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33

Thread: I need opinions!

  1. #1
    Member tanisha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Davenport IA
    Posts
    61

    Lightbulb I need opinions!

    This is a quilt that I started ~5 years ago. I wanted a new project, so I had my aunt draw several different flowers on blocks. She is great, and did just that. I hand embroidered them, and at the time, I didn't know how to quilt. Well today and 4 quilts later, I decided that I should finally put these blocks together.. But now I don't know if I made a good decision on sashing! It is a brown multi-colored polka dot, and the blocks in the middle are a green diamond.

    The colors of the blocks are deep blue, medium green, yellow, and pink.

    It needs to be longer, so I think I am going to piece some blocks for the top and bottom and then finish off with an outer border of the polka dot.

    Any opinions?

    Sorry for the quality of the picture, I have poor lighting; I'm in a hotel room for 3 weeks, and yes, I brought my sewing machine! =]
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Member auntpiggylpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
    Posts
    6,916
    Blog Entries
    1
    So bright and colorful! You did a fantastic job!
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

  3. #3
    Super Member BizzieLizzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,922
    Love it and I think that the sashing is lovely! Well done!!
    Patchwork Crazy!!!

  4. #4
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,882
    Your embroidery is beautiful!!! Personally, I like the brown polka dot sashing!

  5. #5
    Member tanisha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Davenport IA
    Posts
    61
    Thank you! My mom started me out when I was about 5.. I've stitched away ever since.. Its only been the past few years I have gotten started with quilting.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Enid, OK
    Posts
    8,923
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think that is just lovely, definitely one of a kind!

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Deep South near Cajun Country, USA
    Posts
    2,497
    Your blocks are lovely. I agree with you...the brown really doesn't enhance the blocks. To me, it sorta flattens them. I am the world's worse at picking fabrics, but I can just see a patterned white with black as the sashing between these blocks. I think it would really pick up your block colors & display them beautifully. I'd take the top to the fabric store and audition fabrics you think would work. Often I am surprised. Things I think will work - go dud, & things I know won't - go ZING!!!! I will be looking forward to see what you end up with.
    Last edited by Barb in Louisiana; 05-08-2012 at 07:37 PM.
    Sew a Little, Love a Lot & Live like you were dying!

  8. #8
    Super Member noveltyjunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    53 degrees North
    Posts
    1,668
    Blog Entries
    3
    Well I never would have thought brown polka dots could work so well! I think you have done a fine job there.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6,002
    I love your quilt ~ everything about it including the brown polka dots!

  10. #10
    Super Member Pickles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,448
    O my that is one gorgeous quilt top, and I so so love that brown poka dot sashing it really makes it pop!!!
    May you always have Love to Share , Health to Spare, and Friends that Care!

  11. #11
    Super Member Pickles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,448
    O by the way your Aunt is a wonderful and talented lady to have drawn such pretty flowers!!!
    May you always have Love to Share , Health to Spare, and Friends that Care!

  12. #12
    Super Member burchquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Holmen, WI
    Posts
    7,330
    Quote Originally Posted by Neesie View Post
    Your embroidery is beautiful!!! Personally, I like the brown polka dot sashing!
    Awesome embroidery! I, too, like the brown polka dot (polka dots are so happy!) sashing!
    (`v)
    `*..*
    .
    .*).*)
    (.(. (..`..♥ rebecca

  13. #13
    QM
    QM is offline
    Power Poster QM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Northern California mountains
    Posts
    12,542
    YOur blocks are good and the sashing sets them off nicely, IMHO.

  14. #14
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    3,999
    I think it looks great just as it is. Wouldn't change a thing.
    Sewbeadit
    W. Washington

  15. #15
    Super Member girlsfour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Woodbury, MN
    Posts
    1,031
    Nice job. Love the sashing - good choice.

  16. #16
    Super Member AshleyR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,099
    Blog Entries
    30
    The blocks are beautiful!! I'd try black sashing if that gorgeous quilt was mine! I think anything else kind of competes with the blocks. I do like the brown fabric, but I'd save it for something else.

  17. #17
    Super Member Blinkokr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Deltona, Florida
    Posts
    7,091
    Just terrific, great job and thank you for sharing, your mom is going to love it. I like the pot a dots myself. Have a Blessed day Ellen

  18. #18
    Super Member nunnyJo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Fl./ WV
    Posts
    4,531
    Blog Entries
    1
    super nice, nice colors

  19. #19
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fort White, Fl
    Posts
    2,673
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think the sashing is great.
    A friend is someone who knows all about you and loves you anyway.

  20. #20
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    dallas tx.
    Posts
    4,566
    Blog Entries
    3
    I think the sashing is perfect, also for the border. It is really pretty.

  21. #21
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    The Colony, TX
    Posts
    3,364
    Personally I love the brown. I bought a kit (haven't done it yet) with bright applique done on different brown backgrounds mainly because I loved the bright colors on the browns. I think some pieced blocks on the top and bottom would be great to make it longer, or could you duplicate some of the flowers and do more embroidery.

  22. #22
    Super Member sash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,888
    I like the brown polka dots too. Looks good.

  23. #23
    Super Member ruthrings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    1,027
    I love the sashing. The dots are the colors of the squares and bring it all together! Well done!
    Ruth

  24. #24
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bosque County, Texas
    Posts
    3,028
    You have dark colors and bright colors. After the addition of more blocks I would add a narrow border to match the sashing in fabric and size. Then a wide border in one of the bright colors and bind it in a wide strip of the sashing fabric. I would have a LA put fantastic quilting in the wide border and complimentary quilting in the blocks. It will be a "to die for" award winning quilt. You've done a fantastic job!

  25. #25
    Super Member Nanjun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    2,136
    Blog Entries
    4
    I like it just the way it is! Good job.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.