Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 128

Thread: I need your opinions, please................

  1. #76
    Senior Member chickadee_42us's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Smack dab between Dallas and Tyler, Texas
    Posts
    759
    I don't see it as either female or male. It's a nice composition of colors and pattern.
    Enjoy the day, Chickadee_42us

  2. #77
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    uniontown.ky
    Posts
    482
    It,s beatiful,,,,,it bold,,,,the colors are just great,,,just make a pink and brown,,,and hand it to your hubby ask him if look girly

  3. #78
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    uniontown.ky
    Posts
    482
    Oh yeah,,,, you did a GREAT job makin it

  4. #79
    Super Member orangeroom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,475
    Blog Entries
    1
    You have a two choices; ask the grandmother or ask the dgs. Don't stress over it. If she gave you no color preferences, she gave you free reign. My dh from time to time, gives me his opinion. Sometimes I ignore it, other times I prefer to think he's thinking from his butt. Unless asked, I'm not seeking his opinion.
    Go forth and sew!

  5. #80
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    N.E. England
    Posts
    1,007
    My son painted his living room these colours when he moved into his first home aged 21 so I think the quilt will be manly enough.

  6. #81
    Junior Member showmehow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Sheridan, Tx
    Posts
    252
    Since when is a little color girly. I think its fine for a guy. I see nothing "girly" about this quilt.
    Live well, Love often, Pray daily

  7. #82
    Senior Member Prettiptibbs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Winchester, VA
    Posts
    400
    Thanks, everyone for your candid opinions. My friend lives in another state and does not have a computer, so I am going to mail her a picture of the top before I quilt it. I have made a brown pillowcase and am thinking of changing the printed border to a solid brown.
    Thanks again!
    Prettip

  8. #83
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    sticks
    Posts
    72
    I love it! And you now what? It is 2012! Men wear earrings, long hair and baggy shirts. Girl are bald, sport big tattoos and six packs! Who can say what is girly anymore, unless it has Disney Princesses and pink butterflies on it?
    I say, give it to her and let her decide. She can always keep it, if she loves it more than he does.
    It looks UNISEX to me. Like earrings, tattoos and six packs.
    Very pleasing colors and designs
    Lottie
    Be Yourself. Everyone else is taken.

  9. #84
    Senior Member AllAboutScraps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Granville MA
    Posts
    653
    I think it is a beautiful quilt and has no gender. It's style is modern and so are the colors. However, that said, it depends on the recipient. It could go either way. Good luck!

  10. #85
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    19,702
    So - what exactly are 'manly' colors?

    I remember when charcoal gray and pink were the colors that the guys wear wearing (of course, that was around 1958 - but still)

  11. #86
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    777
    Don't see anything girly about this quilt, so ask the person whom requested a quilt for a guy.

  12. #87
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Clearwater Kansas
    Posts
    386
    I would have choosen those colors for a man quilt and do not there is anything "girlie" about it. Go for it.

  13. #88
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Tallmadge, OH
    Posts
    5,059
    O.K., ladies. I asked my husband and he thought it was bold - definitely not too girly. Neither do I. I always go to him with color selections because he's better at it than I.

  14. #89
    Super Member chips88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    kershaw,south carolina
    Posts
    1,208
    i love the colors on your quilt. its not girly.. i just love it...

  15. #90
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    home again, after 27 yrs!
    Posts
    15,785
    Blog Entries
    2
    Well I love it and yes, I'm a girl. But really, I think he should love it. very nice indeed. Just say it blue and brown. Men love those colors.

  16. #91
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Southeast Georgia
    Posts
    2,526
    Not girly at all! what do men know???? LOL

  17. #92
    Junior Member whatever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    River Grove,IL
    Posts
    202
    love it.. colors are great

  18. #93
    Junior Member linynp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Commack, NY, USA
    Posts
    275
    I think it's perfect!
    From the heart
    Nancy

  19. #94
    Super Member girlsfour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Woodbury, MN
    Posts
    1,031
    Nice! Love your color choices!

  20. #95
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hamburg,Western New York State
    Posts
    4,310
    I think that your husband needs to look at it again. Definitely not Girlie.

  21. #96
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern Ky
    Posts
    217
    It looks fine to me too and I think he will like it.

  22. #97
    Senior Member nclauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Coastal North Carolina
    Posts
    629
    I don't think it is girlie. I think you did a great job finding fabric that is not gender specific.

  23. #98
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    2
    I think it is great for a boy, I just made one for a great nephew using teal and greens and it turned out looking fine for a boy. I would give it to him and see what he thinks. Great job!

  24. #99
    Super Member lisalovesquilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,659
    Quote Originally Posted by angiecub View Post
    First of all, I want to say this is absolutely beautiful, but I agree with your husband.
    Me too. How about a quilt with the college colors.
    Peace is one of His greatest gifts.

  25. #100
    Super Member Debbie B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Huber Heights, Ohio
    Posts
    2,339
    I love it. Of course, I'm a girl, and so I think I'd ask the boy how he feels about teal or maybe show it to some other boys & ask what they think. It's beautiful.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.