Newbies challenge

Old 01-13-2014, 11:11 PM

i'd love to be someone's mommy..

ive been quilting on and off for a very long time. i even taught quilting for a few years. i love colors and trying out all techniques.

that said, i live in india, and may or may not have access to all the goodies out there. esp batting. we get ONE kind of poly batting here, in different thicknesses. believe it or not, at the car upholsterers store!!

i recently acquired a new machine, a souped up version of the 4120qdc that Janome markets in india. it has enough bells and whistles to get me all excited, and is great for fmq!! i'm just binding a 64"x100" quilt i started exactly 4 weeks ago

i'm still learning my way around QB, so i hope i don't miss any messages..
Old 01-15-2014, 06:49 AM

I have taken you up on your offer and made one invitation. Great idea, thank you for the inspiration
Old 01-20-2014, 11:30 AM

I have never quilted before!!! I have a sewing machine gathering dust in our annex, I only use it for basic household repairs like sewing holes in our son's clothes up!!!! I would love to put it to much better uses.
Today I bought myself Love Patchwork and Quilting magazine. Although some of the projects look amazing I feel they are rather advanced for me.
I would love to start off by maybe making a basic quilt made out of squares or rectangles as I have been told this is the easiest shapes to work with on a first project. I would be happy to follow any step by step guides and listen to any advice any of you veterans are willing to give me.
Old 01-30-2014, 09:40 PM

Just found this thread too and WOW it's 3 yrs old! I can only say that I think that I took all the members of QB as if they were my parents and moms! There are so many wonderful people who help, teaches, supports and applauds and make our way novice and self-taught much easier! Thank you all from my heart! : Thumbup:
Old 02-08-2014, 04:37 AM

Have you been adopted yet and if not are you still interested?