Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Doing first quilt!  Live in SLC, Utah... Need your advice on quilting frames!  :) >

Doing first quilt! Live in SLC, Utah... Need your advice on quilting frames! :)

Doing first quilt! Live in SLC, Utah... Need your advice on quilting frames! :)

Old 02-16-2009, 09:25 AM

Wow! I must first say that this site is great! I'm just getting into quilting (working on my first quilt now... pregnant with my first child, a little boy, and I'm making my first quilt for him) and this site has so much helpful info that I won't need to get a quilting book!

So, I need your help with choosing a quilting frame. I have looked at a couple frames at the local shops and the best priced one I could find was a "Q-Snap Floor Frame" for about $85. It looks really good, but is a little pricey. Does anybody have a cheaper suggestion?

My husband, who works in manufacturing, took a look at it and says he could make one for less than the store is selling it for. Being the business major graduate that he is, he is actually thinking about starting a business making frames. Oh boy... what am I getting myself into! :)

Any advice on a cheap quilting frame? Any advice on how to convince my hubby that with the economy being down like this, now is not a good time to get into a quilting frames manufacturing business?

Thanks a ton for this great site, and thanks in advance for your help!

C. Whitely
Old 02-16-2009, 09:32 AM

Welcome from NE CA. Glad you found us. Unfortunately, I can't help you with your frame or your husband quest for business. But, you never can tell, try making a couple and advertising them and see if they sell. That's the best advice I can offer, maybe someone on board can offer better advice.
Old 02-16-2009, 09:37 AM

Thanks Pocoellie!

I don't think I want him making these things though...

:)
Old 02-16-2009, 09:56 AM

Hello and Welcome from Canada. Glad you have you with us. :)
Old 02-16-2009, 09:58 AM