Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
tshirt quilt question >

tshirt quilt question

tshirt quilt question

Old 09-30-2015, 04:05 AM

Default tshirt quilt question

I am a newbie at making tshirt quilts. I just made my niece 4 and she was very happy with them. A neighbor asked me to make her one and I am working on that one now - she is actually purchasing all of the materials and paying me cash for my time. So I am pretty happy about that

My question is when you all make tshirt quilts do you "piece" the tshirt blocks to make them all the same size? I look at pictures and its really hard to tell because the pictures are not up close.

The lady gave me 20 shirts and asked me to shirt blocks with sashing in between... like the "Traditional Styel T Shirt" quilt on this link http://goosetracks.com/TshirtQuilt.html (about half way down the page - this is the example that she gave me)

Her shirts are all different sizes and I think they will have to be pieced to keep the logo centered. Her shirts are not as similar as the one in this picture.

Do you guys piece them - or just not worry about the logos being centered?

I don't like them pieced and I don't like the logos off center either.... ugh

Please let me know your thoughts

Thank you!
Old 09-30-2015, 04:19 AM

show her the pics of the "variable" style and explain why you think she should allow that type of construction. I wouldn't care for the off center or pieced options either.
Old 09-30-2015, 04:28 AM

I've made 1! After I had cut/mounted all of the shirts I laid them out on the floor. Sat there and thought....holy crud what have I gotten myself into. Then I took a breath and arranged them the way I wanted.

Once arranged I:
sewed sashing onto each block within a row to make them all the same height. This meant some had wider sashing than others because some Tshirt fronts were small. After I sewed each row whatever height the tallest shirt was in that row I laid them out again.