Singer 6233 oiling

Old 07-06-2017, 01:32 PM

Question Singer 6233 oiling

Hi all,
I am new to sewing. I procured a Singer 6233 sewing machine in a recent yard sale. I also have access to the user Instruction manual.

However I am trying to find cleaning and oiling information for this sewing machine. The Maintenance section of the user manual only talks about cleaning the exterior and bobbin cases with a lint brush. I am surprised it doesnt talk about oiling.

I saw quite a few videos on how to oil vintage machines, including the one in this forum.

Some people seem to believe that we need to oil this machine anyway. However I also heard from some people that this particular model doesnt need any oiling. But I dont see any good explanation for either. I however favor oiling this machine as it seems only logical.

So I am looking for some guidance/reference. Has any of you used/know about this machine? If so what is your recommendation regarding oiling it. Is there a specific oiling procedure /video that you follow.

Thanks in advance
Old 07-06-2017, 03:29 PM

The difference is that one is mechanical and one is electronic. The old ones are pure mechanical machines with belts, gears and bolts. They need oil to perform properly. Metal rubbing against metal with no lubricant over a period of time will wear the metal, and cause failure (loose joints, noisy gears and then, complete failure eventually).

The other is an electronic machine. It's like a computer. It has circuit boards, fuses and the like. Like your computer, electronic machines do not need oiling. I would be inclined to to vacuum the bobbin area regularly, though.

bkay

Last edited by bkay; 07-06-2017 at 03:29 PM. Reason: spelling
Old 07-06-2017, 05:00 PM