Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Upgrading Gammill Plus with Computerized system >

Upgrading Gammill Plus with Computerized system

Upgrading Gammill Plus with Computerized system

Old 10-25-2018, 07:12 AM

Default Upgrading Gammill Plus with Computerized system

Hi all,
Forgive me if this topic has been mulled over before. I'm new to the forum, did a search and decided to just Go for it!

I'm a freehand professional longarm quilter of almost 10 years now. I have a 13 yr old Gammill Classic Plus and she's been fairly reliable. I've struggled with the decision to upgrade to a computerized system. To say I have strong opinions about Freehand vs. Computerized is an understatement, but I know it stems from the fact that my livelihood comes from me working at my machine, my ability to create/stitch designs with my own two hands and that it's threatened by computers! I think scribes were once equally as insulted by the printing press lol. Understand that I see the value in computerized quilting (mainly utility/panto-graphs). I know there is skill in the computer work and talent in custom design placement, but I also feel slighted when someone implies a computer driven feather is an equal to the feathers that a human exerted energy to stitch out.

Anyway, I've come to terms with the idea that in order to stay competitive, I should consider adding a computer. I've found the vast majority of customers do not care (some do) if a machine or human runs the stitches as long as their quilt gets put together as quickly and as affordably as possible. So who has upgraded their Gammill with computerized add-ons? Elevate? Intelliquilter? PC quilter etc? Pros? Cons?

Also if you are a professional that does both freehand and computerized, would you mind divulging your pricing structure? I see some bumping their freehand costs up and I'm not sure it would fly in my market.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 10-25-2018 at 09:50 AM. Reason: shouting/all caps