Class 15 clone? freebie :-)

Old 12-29-2011, 01:52 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
JMCDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Perth County, Ontario Canada
Posts: 278
Default Class 15 clone? freebie :-)

Hi All,

I was the first to respond last night to an add on Kijiji (Craigslist type buy and sell) for this sewing machine. My son and I went to pick it up this morning, the lad is clearing out his aunts old farmhouse, he just wanted it out of the house...and he threw in the 2 metal picnic hampers along with it = storage!!

I am presuming I have aquired a class 15 clone - 3/4 size machine???...if this is not what it is I would appreciate some info to steer us in the right direction. I have downloaded the free manual from sew-classic, if this is the right one.

When I plugged her in the needle started right up even though I wasn't touching the foot pedal...so I unplugged her until he gets home from work and can give her a look over, but other than that nothing is bent, rusty or missing so should be a good first project for us to work on.

The table is in very good condition too!

Her name is Nellie King which was his aunts name....I automatically said "Whoa Nelly" when I plugged her in, so I guess that fits! LOL

TIA
Joann
Attached Thumbnails nellie-king-2.jpg   nellie-king-1.jpg   nellie-king-3.jpg  
JMCDA is offline  
Old 12-29-2011, 01:58 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Charlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,442
Default

Yep! You have a mighty pretty 15 Clone!

Check the plug? Will it plug into the machine the other way? I had a machine that took off like a racehorse when I plugged her in, the spousal unit changed the wires around and that fixed the problem!
Charlee is offline  
Old 12-29-2011, 02:29 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 3,992
Default

Yes a very pretty clone, love the color. the nob on the left of the pillar should move the feed dogs up and down for darning (who does that anymore?) but should work for FMQ.
Caroline S is offline  
Old 12-29-2011, 02:43 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
JMCDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Perth County, Ontario Canada
Posts: 278
Default

Thanks Charlee and Caroline!...we are relatively new at sewing machine repair, my husband does small engine repair already so we should have some fun with the old machines....we have quite a collection growing, hoping to fix up and pass on most of them to those who need a machine - this one, well, she is so pretty I might keep her around until just the right person comes along who needs her more...and is as appreciative of the old machines as we are.

Joann
JMCDA is offline  
Old 12-29-2011, 09:06 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 6,487
Default

Originally Posted by Charlee
Yep! You have a mighty pretty 15 Clone!

Check the plug? Will it plug into the machine the other way? I had a machine that took off like a racehorse when I plugged her in, the spousal unit changed the wires around and that fixed the problem!
My Admiral did the same thing until I switched the power cord plug and the foot contol plug around. Surprising to say the least. You have a very pretty macihne.
irishrose is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 05:48 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
sewnbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mid MIchigan
Posts: 575
Default

Very nice.
sewnbug is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 05:52 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: N. Florida
Posts: 4,568
Default

Oooohh so pretty. Enjoy.
annthreecats is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 06:28 AM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sweet Home Alabama
Posts: 3,140
Default

Very pretty machine. Love the color. The picnic hampers are neat too. Have fun.
Scakes is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 09:44 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: western NC
Posts: 491
Default

Pretty! It does sound like you have the two plug ins (underneath inside the cabinet) reversed. There is usually one for the light and one for the motor. If you get them mixed up, the motor will come on as soon as you plug in the power. Hope you are happily sewing by now.

Pat
fluffygirl is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 10:05 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
JMCDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Perth County, Ontario Canada
Posts: 278
Default

well, hubby came home and observed the "race horse activity" then played around with the wires and plugs and she still runs wildly regardless.....this morning he tried her again and she started running but then stopped and is/was controlled by the foot peddle as she should be, so....he says there must be a problem within the rheostat (that is what he called the little receptacle the wires from the machine plug into) ...the wires aren't the best, nothing frayed but getting crunchy and stiff, so he will have to rewire her at some point. She is still sitting in the kitchen where I can "pet" her when I am going past LOL
JMCDA is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
DawnFurlong
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
14
02-22-2012 06:30 AM
janeite
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
8
02-20-2012 04:36 PM
MrsBoats
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
5
12-31-2011 01:49 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter