Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
New owner of Pfaff 130, handwheel spins freely on shaft >

New owner of Pfaff 130, handwheel spins freely on shaft

New owner of Pfaff 130, handwheel spins freely on shaft

Old 06-26-2018, 08:31 PM

Default New owner of Pfaff 130, handwheel spins freely on shaft

Hello,

I'm hoping someone here might be able to help me...I recently acquired a Pfaff 130, and am having trouble with the plastic (bakelite?) handwheel just spinning on the shaft instead of operating the machine. ( I'm pretty new to sewing machines but am somewhat mechanically inclined.)

I've taken the wheel and clutch piece off and reinstalled it both ways, but that made no difference. There apparently is isn't anything actually securing the handwheel to the shaft, but it looks like maybe there should be...there is a hole in the handwheel that I see lines up with another hole in the shaft. Am I missing a part that should be in there?

Thanks much in advance for any help. I've googled for an exploded parts diagram, but haven't found one.
Old 06-26-2018, 11:20 PM

Sounds like you need a set screw. I'm not sure where to get a new one though
Old 06-27-2018, 12:47 AM
Power Poster

Welcome from western NY and happy quilting
Old 06-27-2018, 02:44 AM

Do you have all parts intact? Grub screw, washer with sort of three loabs, stop motion screw and hand wheel? I found these photos.

Old 06-27-2018, 08:00 AM