Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/vintage-sewing-machine-shop-come-sit-spell-t43881.html)

skeetersmom 08-19-2010 12:42 AM

OMG!!!!!!!!! I am a newbie on this board.......just wanted to learn how to quilt.........but after seeing this thread, I am absolutely hooked on the old machines already. I am a great-grandma, and it's probably pretty late to begin a search for a sewing machine or two from the past, but I am compelled to give it a try.

Thanks for this thread, love reading and seeing the pictures of old machines that I so well remember.

I'm not sure where to begin my search for a featherweight and a treadle, but I'm going to begin the search. I've never bought anything off e-bay or craig's list which I've seen mentioned here. If anyone here has suggestions, I'm interested in hearing about them.

jenna p in ga 08-19-2010 04:23 AM

Originally Posted by jenna p in ga
Now that I have a FW but just wondered :).

Jenna

That should read NOT that I have a FW...still waiting for that elusive great deal...I like the under $100 deals, lol.

jenna p in ga 08-19-2010 04:33 AM

Originally Posted by AbbyQuilts
UGHHHH
So I went to make my first quilt on the treadle red eye that I got last week.
I have sewed on it everyday pretty much but just practice things you know a piece of fabric and off I go.

Well tonight it wants to start acting up.

First the bobbin keeps getting stuck. Well not the bobbin but the thread. Like I can not pull the tread out.
When I get it going again I sew for a little bit and then it sticks again and puckers up the fabric.

Now the belt keeps slipping.