Shuttle New Home 1882

Old 09-22-2015, 09:55 AM

Default Shuttle New Home 1882

This is my first time winding bobbin and threading shuttle. I have watched several videos but none are like my shuttle. Any advice is appreciated.[ATTACH=CONFIG]531420[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]531421[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails image.jpg   image.jpg  
Old 09-22-2015, 10:21 AM
Banned

I would want to see a picture from the indicated angle to be sure but here is the start of what to do.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]531422[/ATTACH]

That is very interesting looking. the New Home I have used a flat top shuttle, your's looks curved like a White VS1 shuttle... interesting
Attached Thumbnails shuttle.jpg  
Old 09-22-2015, 12:09 PM

Thank you so much. I have very carefully loaded and threaded the shuttle. I can sew maybe 12 inches and the bobbin thread breaks???
Old 09-22-2015, 02:23 PM

Hi,

Manual from Smithsonian for early New Home:

http://www.sil.si.edu/DigitalCollect...0873/index.htm

Unfortunatly no shuttle threading diagram.

I always check the shuttle to make sure thread strips easily off the bobbin and shuttle tension good. Once in a while I get bobbins not wound well and they knot up in places every so often.

Jon
Old 09-22-2015, 02:47 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by jlhmnj View Post
... Once in a while I get bobbins not wound well and they knot up in places every so often.

Jon
x2 on this. There is a reason they were able to sell Pre-Loaded machine wound bobbins in the day! I would say that 90% of the spools I have that came wound with thread would not pass the "make sure thread strips easily off the bobbin " test for more than about a foot or two. also a great way to test the strength of the old thread..........
Old 09-22-2015, 04:02 PM

Can you take a picture of the shuttle carrier? Mine takes a bullet shuttle, and from what I found on Needlebar - the ones they show do also.
Old 09-22-2015, 04:55 PM