Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell >

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Old 06-13-2010, 05:23 AM

Hope you feel better soon Billy.
Old 06-13-2010, 05:28 AM

Hi, I am a newbie to collecting vintage sewing machines. Family thinks I lost my mind, but, I think the older machines are so much better than all the new ones. Don't get me wrong, I do have some that have all the bells and whistles, but, I still like the old ones. I have a Singer 401 and Singer 503A. They are both in cabinets. I would love to get a treadle machine. Today, we are supposed to go to some antique stores and maybe some thrift stores. I do have a question. What machines should I steer clear of? You see, I started to read this thread, I'm not very far in it yet, so, was wondering if there are some machines that are hard to get parts or needles for, or if the parts and needles are very pricey. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you. Laura
Old 06-13-2010, 05:32 AM

Originally Posted by quilt addict
I'm seeeewwwww excited, I think I have found "The One". Well anyway for now today was my last shopping day for awhile as the garage is full. After a nap here is a long winded report.

Today I picked up three machines on a road trip to Los Angeles. My girlfriend came with me so it was a great day. We were going to run by the harp store for her but she voted to stop at the Apple store in Pasadena to look at Ipad. They are perty neat.