Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Sewing Machine Reviews

  1. #1
    Member jackie o.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    31
    I know that the answer to my question is as varied in number as there are machines out there, but I'm discouraged by the vast number of negative reviews for most of the newer sewing machines, especially the ones I am contemplating purchasing (Sapphire 835, Pfaff 4.0, the new Janome). Most everyone has a list of unresolved complaints, no matter which brand.

    Is anyone completely satisfied with one of these newer machines? I like the idea of the larger sewing area, so if anyone has any comments, I'd truly welcome them!

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,962
    I have the Janome 6600 and love it. The problems that I've had are on the user end. :shock: :lol: :lol:

  3. #3
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,471
    I've had a Bernina for 10 years and never had a problem. I love it and highly recommend Bernina.

  4. #4
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    6,745
    Blog Entries
    3
    I think that when someone has issues, they are more likely to write a review than someone who's happily sewing along.

    I have a Viking Sapphire 830. It was a demo model that I bought last year. I have not had any issues with it. It just had it's first check up and everything is well. It seems to prefer certain brands of thread, and that's fine with me. As long as she's happy! LOL I think the main problem people have with the Vikings is that it's auto everything and takes some getting used to. From some of the things I've read, it could be user error in many of the cases. The presser foot doesn't just go up and down. There are a few levels of height. If it's not all the way up, the thread will not move! Once you get used to that, it's all good...and I do still occasionally reach for the presser foot lever! :) It's great to have the larger throat. I have no regrets!

  5. #5
    Super Member 0tis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    2,604
    I have a Sapphire 875Q - the only issues I had were my own errors. I was not threading the machine in the correct order nor was I threading the bobbin correctly. Since I corrected my error - the machine works beautifully. Perhaps you could try out the machines in the store - find what you like. There are always going to be people that aren't satisfied with their purchase - sometimes you just have to try for yourself. Good luck.

  6. #6
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,705
    I think 50% of the issues people have are because these machines are so advanced and they've not taken any classes to learn how to operate them. Yes, there are machines that come out of the box with problems, but I think education is key.

  7. #7
    Super Member wolph33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wi
    Posts
    9,730
    I have a viking designer 1,designer diamond,babylock quilters choice pro-never any problems with any that were not user errors

  8. #8
    Super Member UglyCook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Auburn, WA
    Posts
    1,381
    I think that as others menitoned, it is only the people with problems who tend to post as the others are too busy sewing! One thing to do is to look at the kinds of problems they are having. If most of them tend to be user errors and you are pretty good at figuring things out, then go for it!

    Another option might be to get one that a good friend has so that you have someone really handy to help you.

    I've not taken machine specific classes, but have learned by trial and error and by having someone either nearby or online to answer my questions.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    352
    Blog Entries
    14
    I have been shopping around for a serger and there are reviews on different machines on http://sewing.patternreview.com/SewingMachine/Reviews
    I hope this helps you, it does me.

    Mary

  10. #10
    Super Member jemma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    adelaide /australia
    Posts
    1,393
    mary please check out the babylock serger sooooooo easy to thread love it take lessons if you can

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.