Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27

Thread: Sewing Machine Reviews

  1. #1
    Member jackie o.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    31
    I know that the answer to my question is as varied in number as there are machines out there, but I'm discouraged by the vast number of negative reviews for most of the newer sewing machines, especially the ones I am contemplating purchasing (Sapphire 835, Pfaff 4.0, the new Janome). Most everyone has a list of unresolved complaints, no matter which brand.

    Is anyone completely satisfied with one of these newer machines? I like the idea of the larger sewing area, so if anyone has any comments, I'd truly welcome them!

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,958
    I have the Janome 6600 and love it. The problems that I've had are on the user end. :shock: :lol: :lol:

  3. #3
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,462
    I've had a Bernina for 10 years and never had a problem. I love it and highly recommend Bernina.

  4. #4
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,160
    Blog Entries
    3
    I think that when someone has issues, they are more likely to write a review than someone who's happily sewing along.

    I have a Viking Sapphire 830. It was a demo model that I bought last year. I have not had any issues with it. It just had it's first check up and everything is well. It seems to prefer certain brands of thread, and that's fine with me. As long as she's happy! LOL I think the main problem people have with the Vikings is that it's auto everything and takes some getting used to. From some of the things I've read, it could be user error in many of the cases. The presser foot doesn't just go up and down. There are a few levels of height. If it's not all the way up, the thread will not move! Once you get used to that, it's all good...and I do still occasionally reach for the presser foot lever! :) It's great to have the larger throat. I have no regrets!

  5. #5
    Super Member 0tis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    2,671
    I have a Sapphire 875Q - the only issues I had were my own errors. I was not threading the machine in the correct order nor was I threading the bobbin correctly. Since I corrected my error - the machine works beautifully. Perhaps you could try out the machines in the store - find what you like. There are always going to be people that aren't satisfied with their purchase - sometimes you just have to try for yourself. Good luck.

  6. #6
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,839
    I think 50% of the issues people have are because these machines are so advanced and they've not taken any classes to learn how to operate them. Yes, there are machines that come out of the box with problems, but I think education is key.

  7. #7
    Super Member wolph33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wi
    Posts
    9,994
    I have a viking designer 1,designer diamond,babylock quilters choice pro-never any problems with any that were not user errors

  8. #8
    Super Member UglyCook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Auburn, WA
    Posts
    1,381
    I think that as others menitoned, it is only the people with problems who tend to post as the others are too busy sewing! One thing to do is to look at the kinds of problems they are having. If most of them tend to be user errors and you are pretty good at figuring things out, then go for it!

    Another option might be to get one that a good friend has so that you have someone really handy to help you.

    I've not taken machine specific classes, but have learned by trial and error and by having someone either nearby or online to answer my questions.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    389
    Blog Entries
    14
    I have been shopping around for a serger and there are reviews on different machines on http://sewing.patternreview.com/SewingMachine/Reviews
    I hope this helps you, it does me.

    Mary

  10. #10
    Super Member jemma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    adelaide /australia
    Posts
    1,394
    mary please check out the babylock serger sooooooo easy to thread love it take lessons if you can

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    East Tennessee/Smoky Mountains
    Posts
    404
    I have the Pfaff Creative Vision, and I love it. Never a problem. I have a good dealer who is about 20 miles away, and I call them whenever I have a question. Most of the time they can guide me through what I want to know. Sometimes I have to go to the shop. I try to have a list of questions before I do that! Just make sure you have a good dealer who will take time to answer all your concerns, and will teach you how to operate the machine. The new ones are complicated, so you really can't learn it all at one time, especially if you have an embroidery unit.

  12. #12
    Super Member Annaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    9,749
    Janome 6500 I like it but I have had problems with the bobbin area from the first yr. I have replaced the little plastic bobbin holder gizmo several times. In my opinion that is the problem it is plastic. I own my machine for 6 1/2 yrs and pretty much run it daily. I also do my quilting on it. Some very large quilts King and extra long twin. The tension is pretty much always good. Some minor paint chipping off the metal base. I like the knee lifter, thread cutter, bigger bed etc.

  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    central Indiana
    Posts
    1,164
    I really think the 'key' is to purchase a machine from a reputable dealer and then to take the classes offered in order to really 'learn' to use the machine properly. Then, in the rare chance, there is an issue with the machine, you are going to be more likely to get it resolved in a timely manner.

  14. #14
    Senior Member sewgray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Houston area
    Posts
    897
    I've had my Bernina 180 for 10 years and like the others all my problems were user errror. And yet the year I bought it, all I heard on the Bernina board was complaints, then I noticed it was the same 2 or 3 people. They didn't want to take time to go to the guide classes and learn how to us their new machines. I went from a mechanical White to a fully compterized Bernina. It was a world of difference. I think the key is to buy from a reputable dealer if there is one close to you. And take the classes.

  15. #15
    Super Member mamaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    1,955
    The best I can tell you is to buy from a dealer who will go over the machine before you take it home, to make sure everything is running and set up properly. Also, one who is willing to give you a class on how to operate your machine. There is alot to learn about some of the newer machines and one cannot expect to get the most out of it if not getting help from a dealer. I know for a fact....because I own one....that only Janome dealers who went to the class Janome offered, are allowed to sell them.

  16. #16
    Senior Member cindyg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cypress (NW Houston), TX
    Posts
    583
    I have the new Janome Horizon 7700. I haven't had it but a couple of weeks so I haven't used it a great deal. The 11" throat space is the berries. The only complaint is that, even though it has lots more light, it doesn't shine just right on my 1/4" foot so I'm still using my Bright Light. Other than that...I love it. It runs so smoothly and quietly and I love all the features. My best advice is to test drive as many as you can to see which one you bond with and make sure you have a great dealer, not one that will leave your hanging.

  17. #17
    Senior Member Hinterland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Hudson Valley, NY
    Posts
    943
    I'm one of those people who posted a negative review of the Sapphire on the internet. Mine is an 850, and it had an appetite for needles and thread nests. However, there are many happy Sapphire owners - and more and more happy owners every day. It seems like Viking may have heard the rumblings of discontent.

    In my case, I had a bad dealer who sold me the machine and then didn't want to support it. While I think I am smart enough to learn on my own, after a few frustrating days trying to freemotion on the machine I was ready for a lesson - only they weren't offered.

    So, my advice is to buy from a good dealer, take the classes and learn how to use the machine. Listen to other locals who have purchased machines from local dealers - you'll find out who will stand by their product and who won't.

  18. #18
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,958
    I bought my Pfaff from a dealer and they are always there for me. Any problems I have had have been my fault, not the machine.

  19. #19
    Super Member kristen0112's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Salem, Oregon
    Posts
    2,442
    I always read the reviews by other users on websites like Amazon.com and I try and read them all. When I find negative ones I look at the length of time between purchase and review write up and most of the time those reviews are writen right after they have received the item and they haven't learned how to use it yet. I used to work in a call center where I walked offices through fixing computers and network issues in their office. Whenever we had a new client they would call in complain about the sofbtware not working correctly. Patience...they eventually got it. It was user error most of the time not equipment error. I think almost all electrical/computerized equipment has some quirks in the software. But there are usually work arounds or patches to fix issues. Good luck on your choice.

  20. #20
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    15,258
    Blog Entries
    1
    I always ask WHY the user is posting the review. The best (bad) ones give qualified statements. For example, I do not like one of my Pfaffs because it eats the fabric (which I could solve with a straight stitch plate) and it stops sewing when it gives the low bobbin indication. Now that feature drives me insane, while it may not bother another user.

    If you do your research, identify the features and price point, find a good dealer, and like what you see after test driving extensively - buy what makes you happy.

  21. #21
    Super Member quilterella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Small town south of Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    1,702
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Candace
    I think 50% of the issues people have are because these machines are so advanced and they've not taken any classes to learn how to operate them. Yes, there are machines that come out of the box with problems, but I think education is key.
    I would have to agree. Most people are intimated by the cost of the machine and by the mass functions of the machine. Because the machines are very pricy, you are less apt to dive right in and explore all the capabilities of the machine for fear of something breaking. Most shops offer instructual classes when you purchase a machine. I own Janome 6600 and love it, the Brother Innovis 4000 and love it, and a Singer Quantrum and love it. I do prefer the Janome 6600, just because it has more features to spoil me with, but, yes education is the key to using your machines, or lose the fear to explore your machine. Good Luck!

  22. #22
    Super Member dreamboat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,070
    I have had a Rose 605 viking for 10 years with no problem.
    Also Designer 2 viking for 6 years with no problem.
    A 905 Serger viking for 3 yrs with no problem.
    A EuroPro 9106 for 6 years with no problem.
    dreamboat

  23. #23
    Senior Member mosquitosewgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Currently Mosquito (which is outside of Placerville) California
    Posts
    776
    I have a 50 year old New Home, a 4 year old Janome 4900QC, a White and a Riccar....The New Home/Janome's are by far my favorite....saving for a 6600 now. With the Janome the only problem I have ever had was a PEBCASM (problem exists between chair and sewing machine) LOL.

    One thing to consider is where you buy your machine. Don't buy it online, please. Go to a reputable dealer and talk to their service department in addition to the sales person. Ask about warranty returns, service charges, whether or not they are willing to help you over the phone, etc. Having access to knowledgeable, helpful and friendly service is one of the most critical components to being happy and successful with your machine. Good luck and happy sewing/quilting!

  24. #24
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    ATL
    Posts
    211
    I had the Janome 6600, and I recently upgraded to the Horizon.

    I loved them both, but I really needed the free arm feature to sew garments.

    I think with any machine, it is up to the buyer to grab some practice fabric and physically do every feature of the machine that is listed in the manual, before going back to the dealer.

  25. #25
    Super Member scowlkat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,531
    Blog Entries
    11
    I just purchased a Babylock Ellisimo and absolutely love it! The only issue I have had is not with the machine but with the dealer. I purchased from them because they were offering it for a really good price but their support is way less than satisfactory! This is my first Babylock and the features are incredible.

    However for regular sewing, you CANNOT beat a Janome INHO. I had a New Home for 20 years before upgrading to a newer Janome. They are built like tanks. My favorite is the 6500 (really really dislike the 6600).

    I have also had a Pfaff (loved the IDT) and a Brother.

    If I could afford it and had the room, I would have my Babylock for embroidery and free arm sewing, a Janome 6500 for regular sewing and a HQ 16 or Sunshine 16 for sit down quilting. Oh, and a Babylock Evolution or Janome Compulock serger. Such a dreamer!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.