Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Computer help please

  1. #1
    Power Poster dreamer2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    WHERE THE SUN ALWAYS SHINES
    Posts
    10,093
    Blog Entries
    7

    Computer help please

    something I did added an extra toolbar.
    don't want it.
    went into programs and uninstalled it.
    not in programs anymore but still showing as added tool bar up top.
    yes I restarted computer.
    how can I get rid of this darn thing ?
    thanks
    I am Quilter Hear Me Roar...

  2. #2
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,952
    Blog Entries
    1
    What operating system are you using? Windows 8?

  3. #3
    Super Member Quilty-Louise's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    3,507
    Blog Entries
    1
    Try "right clicking" in the tool bar at the top. See how tool bars
    it shows.

    Sometimes I do this by mistake and have to uncheck the bar I don't want.
    Louise - Ya-ya to Zachary April 13 2015. I collect mugs from the U.S. and around the world. Also collect handmade pincushions, sewing/quilting themed fabrics, and fabric in general.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    5,249
    Yes, what operating system are you using and what toolbar got added? Might be able to better help with more info.

  5. #5
    Power Poster dreamer2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    WHERE THE SUN ALWAYS SHINES
    Posts
    10,093
    Blog Entries
    7
    am operating windows 8
    running Firefox
    I am Quilter Hear Me Roar...

  6. #6
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,952
    Blog Entries
    1
    Not sure this will help, but I Googled and came up with these steps:
    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...firefox-search

  7. #7
    Power Poster dreamer2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    WHERE THE SUN ALWAYS SHINES
    Posts
    10,093
    Blog Entries
    7
    wow thanks Prism99
    I am Quilter Hear Me Roar...

  8. #8
    Super Member roguequilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    over here
    Posts
    1,091
    Quote Originally Posted by dreamer2009 View Post
    something I did added an extra toolbar.
    don't want it.
    went into programs and uninstalled it.
    not in programs anymore but still showing as added tool bar up top.
    yes I restarted computer.
    how can I get rid of this darn thing ?
    thanks
    whenever you upgrade or install you will be asked to choose between a quick type that they put "recomended" or to do a ”custom”. always choose "custom" & read each page. that is where they stick toolbars, home pages for your browser, & a lot of information gathering goodies. so ..as mentioned in another post, go to browser bar >> click "tools" >>right click "unlock toolbars" and remove checks from each tool bar except the one you want to keep. you can play around a bit & decide which one you want as changes happen immediately. i used to love adding new tool bars as each type had different offerings available. when i realized that six toolbars was taking a substantial amount of screen area, i decided to keep only one open & switched bac & forth among them. after you've decided which is the one you want to keep, put check next to it. make sure all others are unchecked. and click "lock toolbars". then you're done. it really doesn't matter which microsoft os you are running or which browser you are using. this works same way. i am learning a mac air now and haven't done any upgrading or downloading so cannot tell you about mac os issues. ---yet )

    and have fun!!
    the rogue quilter - in from wandering in the sun and snow with camera in hand.

  9. #9
    Super Member jitkaau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,117
    Quote Originally Posted by dreamer2009 View Post
    something I did added an extra toolbar.
    don't want it.
    went into programs and uninstalled it.
    not in programs anymore but still showing as added tool bar up top.
    yes I restarted computer.
    how can I get rid of this darn thing ?
    thanks
    Sounds like you need to go into the settings and disable any add-ons.

  10. #10
    Member QuiltBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Sterling Heights Michigan
    Posts
    72
    These toolbars are made to be "hard to get rid of" & there are usually multiple steps to delete. First if you already uninstalled the program go to your "load at start up" box in the bottom rt corner of the screen (it is where you see the little picture of your printer & your speaker volume, etc). Open that & see if the toolbar icon is there & delete it & restart your computer. If those 2 steps dont do the trick do a google search on "how to delete (name your problem toolbar) from (name your browser)". There will be several solutions to try & one will walk you thru the steps to delete....good luck

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.