Hi Everyone!

Old 04-10-2020, 08:52 AM

Default Hi Everyone!

I hope everyone is well and happy! I am new here and have a question. I am a novice sewer using a new to me machine. Sears Best Kenmore. The top thread doesn't seem to spool off well. It'll be tight then loose. I tried turning the spool over. Also there is a cap on top that is in the correct position. I hope this is an easy fix and just my ignorance with the machine. Thank you for your help!

Last edited by betherevr; 04-10-2020 at 09:10 AM.
Old 04-10-2020, 12:28 PM

Hello and welcome, waving from a safe personal space away in Seattle.

Have you tried other spools? Some can look perfectly ordinary but be secret spindles of heck.

Double check all your threading to make sure you aren't missing a step, even the last one down by the needle can make thread jump around quite a bit.

When you sew, are your stitches good on both sides?
Old 04-10-2020, 05:37 PM
Power Poster

Welcome to the QB
Old 04-10-2020, 05:46 PM

Hi welcome from Wisconsin. Have you checked -is it catching on the thread slot on the spool. that sometimes happens on mine I make sure that the slot is on the bottom.
Old 04-10-2020, 07:46 PM
Power Poster

welcome from Ontario, Canada. If the thread is cross-wound ( like an X) unto the spool, it likes to feed with the spool horizontal. This allows the thread to pull off the end to go through the thread guides. If the thread is stacked, it will feed well with the spool vertical.
Old 04-10-2020, 09:42 PM