Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Brother ScanNCut

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    200

    Brother ScanNCut

    Now that I have a new sewing machine that I don't have to fight with, I have been looking for cutting options, since it appears that my cutting skills are poor

    Specifically, I am interested in using this to cut the 6 repeats for a one block wonder quilt.

    Has anyone ever used the Brother ScanNCut to cut the repeats for one block wonder?

    I know you can do it with AccuQuilt, but I have always been adverse to getting into the AccuQuilt because the dyes can not be sharpened (at least that's what I've heard).

    TIA

    Lynda
    Last edited by QuiltnNan; 12-17-2015 at 07:12 AM. Reason: language

  2. #2
    Power Poster ManiacQuilter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    18,938
    In my opinion, I think this is more towards doing applique then with cutting blocks.
    A Good Friend, like an old quilt, is both a Treasure and a Comfort

  3. #3
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    11,157
    Blog Entries
    2
    I agree with ManiacQuilter2. Great for cutting applique. Since it only cuts one layer of fabric at a time, I don't know how you would cut the 6 exact repeats for a OBW with the scan and cut. you would have to line up the fabric exactly for each individual cut.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,930
    ....and true the die cannot be sharpened but I don't know of anyone ever having to sharpen a die blade!!!!!!i use mine a
    Lot and never have had a dull blade!!!!! And it will cut 6 layers cleanly at one time,

  5. #5
    Super Member luvstoquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Yorkville, IL
    Posts
    6,365
    Blog Entries
    3
    Geri B nailed it! Love my accu quilt
    "You must do the thing you think you cannot do"....E. Roosevelt

    Sharon
    Yorkville, IL

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    200
    You guys are the best. I was pretty sure that the ScanNCut could not cut six layers. I do not do applique so that has been my hang up on buying an accu quilt. Geri B, glad to hear that the dyes do not dull. Thank you.

  7. #7
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    11,157
    Blog Entries
    2
    Sorry I didn't see your comment on the Accuquilt die blades needing sharpening. Some specialty paper is made with clay that can dull blades (which is why they caution you not to cut paper with your fabric shears). I had a semi professional paper business. I have some dies that I have used thousands of times, often with clay coat paper, and none of them are dull. The hardened steel is not like a rotary blade! Cutting fabric is not going to dull them.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  8. #8
    Super Member Weezy Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,159
    You don't have to buy the Accuquilt Applique dies if you don't need them. The geometric dies are great, but Accuquilt needs to say better which dies can get the same effect as the new Qubes. If you have most of the older geometrics that work, having to repurchase for the couple of special cut dies in a Qube is the pits.

    I have the Silhouette and if I want an applique, I can even take a picture of a drawing and get it into studio.
    My problem with most applique dies is the size. I find they are either too big or too small for what I want or I happen to have drawn them myself.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,412
    Blog Entries
    1
    This is so not true. They even have lots of built in blocks and you can even have it draw the seam allowance on if wanted. Yes, its good for applique but also quilts crafts, etc. Check out you tube. It may not cut multiple layers at once but it faster to cut one layer than one turn on the Accuquilt. I love the AccuQuilt but love love love my scan n cut
    Judy

  10. #10
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,765
    Blog Entries
    1
    Do you have to put stabilizer on the back?

  11. #11
    Member Xasera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Cornwall & Limousin
    Posts
    23
    I love my ScannCut for use with paper but have not had any luck cutting fabrics... I must be missing something! I tried felt this week but it just pulled all over the place.
    Quilting Happy!
    www.craftyretreats.com

  12. #12
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    4,008
    I have an Accuquilt Studio and love it, I have never done applique so don't need the applique dies. I have never worn out a die either.
    Sewbeadit
    W. Washington

  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,930
    as far as the qubes......I have a "collection" of geometric dies, so if there is a pattern I like from the qube patterns or other, I would just order that die(s) to do it...cheaper than the whole qube, so I think I'm ahead......just sayin'

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.