Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Can't understand but than its prolly just me

I can't do like everyone else here and just make a quilt to make it . I have to have a reason or purpose to make one. Am I the only one like this ?

in the land of fruits, nuts, flakes & quakes!
    It's always nice to have a purpose but then again, it's nice to do something you enjoy for no reason, too.

I'm just learning so my reason for wanting to make a quilt is for knowledge. It's purpose will be to keep me warm while I admire the fact that "I did it"....lol

I love to make quilts, some purpose for it always comes up. If i find a technique or pattern i want to try, i can always make a small quilt and donate to Linus or someplace. Our guild makes quilts and gives to persons in our area that have house fires,plus i have a big family... someone always says ... OH i love that.

It's the learning process for me as well. Plus most of mine are now for charity and I try to complete at least 2 a month.

My reason for quilting is simple I like it! I try to keep on hand one of each for boy and girl, baby quilt, toddler quilt.You never know when some one will invite you to a shower or one of my kids will want to gift a child one of my quilts at the last min.

Blog Entries
    there is someone somewhere that wants it, just make it.

So maybe you are more of a "needs based" quilter, while a lot of us just love to sew and create and would do it if they all just collected in our attics.

We do it because we love the process as well as the end result.

If my hearts not in a project I dont think I would have the drive to finish it.
    I love choosing the next person to make one for and searching for the perfect pattern and colors.