Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: HELP! got E1 Error on my horizon

  1. #1
    Super Member granny_59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,059

    HELP! got E1 Error on my horizon

    and I dont have any idea why. I was sewing, went to the kitchen and at the time I came back I had this E1 Error on the display................contact the dealer says the manual. Buuuuaaaahhhhhhhhh - he sits in Great Britain!?!?

    I cleaned everything and still got the E1. Anyone out there who had the same problem??
    Cry, cry, cry...........
    Granny

  2. #2
    Senior Member HouseDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Kaua`i
    Posts
    584
    This doesn't fix the problem but explains it:

    http://content.janome.com/fusetalk/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=9&threadid=5214

    Is there a dealer anywhere in Switzerland?

    Quote Originally Posted by granny_59 View Post
    and I dont have any idea why. I was sewing, went to the kitchen and at the time I came back I had this E1 Error on the display................contact the dealer says the manual. Buuuuaaaahhhhhhhhh - he sits in Great Britain!?!?

    I cleaned everything and still got the E1. Anyone out there who had the same problem??
    Cry, cry, cry...........
    Granny
    If life gives you lemons, make Limoncello!

  3. #3
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,161
    Blog Entries
    1
    I don't have this machine, but I did find this online:
    http://www.fixya.com/search/p402732-...ewing/e1_error

    You also might want to join this Yahoo group for the Horizon:
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/JanomeHorizon7700_8900/

  4. #4
    Super Member granny_59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,059
    Thanks but I have been to all these sites before I cried out for help here. I still got my Bernina but I do not understand the problem with the Horizon. All in all I havent been sewing on it more than 40 - 50 hours, most probably even less.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New Rockford, ND
    Posts
    1,727
    is it the horizon 7700. in my book it says that it due to problems in the control circuit. have you
    rethreaded and taken bobbin out and put back in. shut it off and left it for a while then pluged it
    back in. i havent had that problem yet.

  6. #6
    Super Member granny_59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,059
    it is the 7700. I rethreaded, I took everything out and cleaned, I was swearing, crying, pluged in and out, shut it off and prayed.................still not working!

  7. #7
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    15,124
    {{{HUGS}}} of consolation!

    Perhaps try changing the needle .... I know, not a lot of help.

    *****check your email*****
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  8. #8
    Senior Member Little RoO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    England. UK
    Posts
    403
    Hi......I know this may cost you....but if you have access to skype...you could use skype and it would be a lot cheaper....but try phoning Janome Customer Services in the UK.
    I have a 6600 and 9500 sewing and Embroidery and I could not get the 9500 to work properly. I have to say the person at customer services was brilliant and went through everything whilst I was on the phone next to my machine. She told me how to correct the error and it has been brilliant perfectly every since.

    Tel 0161 666 6011
    from outside the UK +44 161 666 6011

    Training & Service
    0161 666 6006
    from outside the UK +44 161 666 6006

    Email
    [email protected]

    Office hours
    9am to 4.45pm, Monday to Friday.

  9. #9
    Super Member CoventryUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Coventry UK
    Posts
    3,056
    I have the Horizon 7700 and my book says E1 Error is a malfunction in the circuit control....nothing you can repair yourself! I suggest you email Janome for help.
    Hilary

  10. #10
    Senior Member skowron5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Wallace, Michigan
    Posts
    452
    When I got that error on my 6600 it was a bad motherboard. Sometimes it can be a fuse.

  11. #11
    Super Member granny_59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,059
    does anybody know where that fuse is??

  12. #12
    Senior Member skowron5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Wallace, Michigan
    Posts
    452
    I don't, but I will call my service person tomorrow and ask her if you can get to it.

  13. #13
    Super Member LyndaOH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    northwest Ohio
    Posts
    1,229
    I'm assuming you have a 7700. I do and I get this error all the time when switching back and forth between the APC (plate converter) and regular stitching. Here's what I do - I turn the machine off. I lower the needle to the lowest position. I turn the machine back on. I turn the hand wheel to raise the needle and bring up the bobbin thread. The LCD display now shows the steps to change from the plate converter to regular sewing or vice versa. I follow the steps, holding the bobbin thread tightly. It generally clears the error message at this point, but if it doesn't, I follow this procedure again.

    I believe it's caused by a sensor that's telling the machine there is thread still in the path from the bobbin to the plate converter, but I'll be darned if I (or my tech) can find it. My dealer is pretty clueless and has been no help.

    If this doesn't work, you might want to try removing the bobbin before you switch from APC to regular sewing or vice versa.

    If I didn't love the rest of the machine so much, I'd have traded it in!

    Please let me know if this helps.

  14. #14
    Super Member granny_59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,059
    thank you so much Lynda.

    I tried that over an over again. As soon as I start to turn the hand wheel the E1 message pops back........ there is a strange sound and after I removed the stitch plate I could see that it must have something to do with the converter as the sound comes from a part moving to the right!?

    I contacted the dealer and he told me to send it in and that all work would be done under the terms of warranty. At least that but the postage only will be around $80!?

  15. #15
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    15,124
    Quote Originally Posted by granny_59 View Post
    thank you so much Lynda.

    I tried that over an over again. As soon as I start to turn the hand wheel the E1 message pops back........ there is a strange sound and after I removed the stitch plate I could see that it must have something to do with the converter as the sound comes from a part moving to the right!?

    I contacted the dealer and he told me to send it in and that all work would be done under the terms of warranty. At least that but the postage only will be around $80!?

    I'm amazed that the postage would be only $80!
    Good that it's still under warranty and hopefully can be there and back again, in no time.
    ........... though you are leaving ............
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  16. #16
    Super Member LyndaOH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    northwest Ohio
    Posts
    1,229
    Quote Originally Posted by granny_59 View Post
    thank you so much Lynda.

    I tried that over an over again. As soon as I start to turn the hand wheel the E1 message pops back........ there is a strange sound and after I removed the stitch plate I could see that it must have something to do with the converter as the sound comes from a part moving to the right!?

    I contacted the dealer and he told me to send it in and that all work would be done under the terms of warranty. At least that but the postage only will be around $80!?
    What happens if you move the handwheel with the stitch plate off? Do you still get the error? Can you try turning the machine off with the stitch plate off and then back on?

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    3
    Crap....I just got the same message with my Horizon! In early March it wouldn't turn on and the mother board had to be replaced, fortunately under warranty and now something else is wrong. I use this machine a lot...at least three or four hours a day! Will bring to the shop tomorrow. I've had it just over a year and love it but not impressed with these problems.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    3
    Brought my machine in and it's the motherboard, again! Apparently some are just defective. It will be covered under warranty again but I'll be without it for a few days.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.