Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Janome 6600 problem >

Janome 6600 problem

Janome 6600 problem

Old 07-01-2019, 08:29 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 3,066
Default Janome 6600 problem

Hello

I love my Janome 6600. I have had the machine for 6 years and its performed like a champ for me.

The last 6 months or so I have run into a problem... the thread is jumping out of the take up lever. then when that happens my machine chokes. Its an easy fix, I just have to rethread and go

But it seems like its happening more often

Does anyone know what is causing this? Is there something that I can do?

I know, I know take it to the dealer.. but my money and I are not on good terms right now ha ha ha

Please let me know your thoughts

Thanks
meyert is offline  
Old 07-01-2019, 11:16 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
EasyPeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,304
Default

Have you tried threading the lever from left to right (so the thread crosses)?
It's been a problem for a lot of people who use this machine.
Are you using a cone? With or without thread stand? Could it be that your
thread is not feeding properly?
EasyPeezy is offline  
Old 07-01-2019, 11:46 AM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
QuiltnNan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
Posts: 51,433
Default

My Bailey quilter came with little rubber bands reminiscent of those used by my little brother on his braces. Chuck Bailey said it keeps the thread from jumping out of the lever.
QuiltnNan is offline  
Old 07-01-2019, 12:00 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: dallas tx.
Posts: 5,172
Default

I can tell you to rub the foot, needle, foot plate and bobbin and bobbin holder with your fingers. It may have a sharp point somewhere and check to see if the thread is polyester. I have been working on a lady's three sewing machines and found a spool [finally] that was 100% polyester. Changed to a cotton one and it sews like a dream.
barny is offline  
Old 07-01-2019, 12:05 PM
  #5  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 3,066
Default

I am using a cone but with a cone holder. This is a cone of thread that was given to me, so I don't know 100% sure if its cotton or not. But this does happen with King Tut and Superior

I will have to try threading the lever left to right... and check for sharp points I suppose.

Thanks for the ideas gives me something to check out
meyert is offline  
Old 07-01-2019, 01:05 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 3,646
Default

Are you threading with the presser foot in the up position?
Rhonda K is offline  
Old 07-01-2019, 02:10 PM
  #7  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 3,066
Default

Originally Posted by Rhonda K View Post
Are you threading with the presser foot in the up position?
I honestly don't know. I will have to watch. Does it make a difference?
meyert is offline  
Old 07-01-2019, 02:24 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
osewme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,770
Default

I have a Janome 7330 Magnolia & just today it stopped sewing correctly. I first noticed something strange when I tried to bring up the bobbin thread. It wouldn't bring up the thread on the first time but would on the second time. I tried re-threading the bobbin & also the top thread several times. I took off my bobbin cover & bobbin case & cleaned everything really well & that did not help. Then I replaced my needle & everything works like a charm. Must have been a burr or bent needle or something like that. Maybe try replacing your needle.
osewme is offline  
Old 07-01-2019, 03:41 PM
  #9  
Super Member
 
EasyPeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,304
Default

Make sure you have good tension. When I moved my 6600 in my sewing room
I had some problem when using the big cone. Finally DH found that if I move
the thread holder to the side then it worked fine. Now I don't use the thread
holder. I just put one of those cone holders on the back and it works like a
charm.
https://www.poconosewandvac.com/prod...e-spool-holder
EasyPeezy is offline  
Old 07-01-2019, 04:29 PM
  #10  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 3,066
Default

thanks everyone... I will try these as the problems arise
meyert is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Mummfan
Main
9
02-01-2019 05:13 AM
ploverwi2
Main
9
06-06-2012 06:41 PM
Joeysnana
Main
16
10-07-2010 05:33 PM
PghPat
Main
6
08-01-2010 09:40 PM
lorli
Main
3
12-31-2009 12:19 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.